Interview with Karen Vance Hammond

This is a new type of posting. I’ve reviewed this great book and through some unexpected providence I’ve gotten the Author, Karen Vance Hammond to do a spotlight piece with me! I’m including the link to the Review of Shoe Marks, so you can see just how much I really enjoyed this book. Also all the red pieces are links, as well.

Karen Vance HammondInterview:
Where did you get ideas for Shoe Marks?
I befriended one of the children who lived inside of the Horton House. After swapping stories with a woman by the name of Jennifer, I knew that she had something very special here. I asked permission to write the story. Not knowing if could even be done; I was at least willing to try. Shoe Marks is different. It’s not just your everyday paranormal where people are running around with cameras waiting for something to happen. Shoe Marks, is rich with history. After all, the Horton House is a Texas Homestead erected in 1886, when Jennifer’s father, who was injured twice in World War II, the year was 1944. One thing that makes this novel unique, is that not only was Jennifer’s father dealing with post-traumatic stress disorder, a terrifying entity in his home that the family and children did not understand, he was also a new daddy. After finishing the third draft, I took it to Jennifer who is now in her 70s. With cheeks streaming down her face, she said,” Karen, you got it right.”

Shoe Marks has captured the attention of readers across the US and abroad. It is now in school libraries, school classrooms and in Japan as well?
Yes, it is! Shoe Marks, not only grabs the interest of readers, it has also caught the attention of teachers. Even though it is not a textbook, educators know the middle, high school and college level students enjoy paranormal, and other genres such as Twilight, The Hunger Games, The Lightening Thief. Shoe Marks is is now in classrooms in Florida, Texas and Japan. Students are crazy about it. Young adults and adults can’t get enough of Shoe Marks. Many have asked if there will be a sequel.

What do you think makes a good story?
One thing that I learned, about writing, is to write as though the reader is blind. Characterization is the key. Don’t just write what a person is feeling…… show it. To me that makes a good book. Another thing that I do is write with my eyes closed as though watching a movie. Being dyslexic, I use a voice narration device.

Do you write every day?
Yes, the word count does not matter to me, whether it would be 2000 words or 10,000 words, that’s what makes a good writer. Another thing that needs to be stressed is that if you are not a reader, you will not be a good writer….Period.

How many books have you written? Which one is your favorite?
Shoe Marks, is my first novel. My second novel, The Monastery Murders along with Identity the sequel is under contract it will make its debut this fall and winter. Right now, I am writing, The Cross Roads which will be a trilogy, along with my bio, Karen’s Story. I do not have a favorite. All of my novels are favored equally as they are all different.

Shoe Marks is the number one best selling title at Synergebooks and Amazon. How does that make you feel?
I was shocked when I found out. I walked around the house all day long and just cried. Wanting my teachers to see this, their hard work, tenacity paid off. When you read Shoe Marks, readers will see in the credits that every teacher is mentioned. If it wasn’t for them I would not be doing the job I love which is writing.

Where are your book tours?
My book tours are online. So far, I have had three book tours. Virtual book tours are the way to go. Most everything is online these days. More books are purchased online than physical bookstores. I think the reason is many people these days do not want to get out, waste expensive gas, fight traffic just to get home with their signed copies. Transportation and disabilities may be a factor as well.

Where can readers find Shoe Marks?

Shoe Marks, can be found at Synergebooks, Amazon Kindle Book, Amazon Paperback, Barnes & Noble, Fictionwise, Books on Board and all other major online booksellers. I also encourage my readers, to please visit my website. There one will see the cover art to my next title along with my bio.

Karen, thank you so much. Can readers contact you any time with questions?
Yes. I am on Facebook. Readers message me all the time.

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on June 24, 2012, in Interview. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

