Interview with Dominique Goodall

Crimson Flower Reviews would like to welcome Dominique Goodall. Thank you for being with us today. 


I love to read, write, sing, dance, take pictures, make photo manipulations and trawl the internet for more things to do.  I am a self-admitted wolf-obsessed person and I am dedicated to my pets, which includes a Malamute, named Makita.  I am  always alert for whatever is happening.  Also I suffer with frequent insomnia, which means my best writing time ends up being between 10pm-2am. 



Interview:

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?
I first realized I wanted to be a writer at the ripe old age of….9. I was awarded the highest ‘award’ in my school for a story I’d written after story-boarding it out…and ever since then I’ve fleshed out many, many worlds…though most of them remained in my head. I finally started to write properly when I was fifteen…just short stories and poetry but I got a lot of compliments on them. After moving, I became more of a hermit (which writer isn’t?) and I started to really throw myself into writing, building up my skills and discovering which techniques worked best for me.

What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?
I have to write in tiny, little writing – and my only real constructive work gets done during writing sprints. I was introduced to the art of the writing sprint during NaNoWriMo 2011 – and it certainly helps me to hit the targets I’ve determined for myself. By tiny writing – my favorite font is font 10, and I shrink word to 80%. Font type has to be calibre or else there’s a no go on my creativity – I don’t know what it is about that font that fires me up!

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?
Just how much a character can play on your mind surprised me. More than once while writing Echoes of Winter I’d go to bed pleased with what I’d done…only to wake up in the morning with a whole list of ways in which the character would change and develop. One story twist I wrote had me sleepless for hours. I’d thought what had happened was awful, but the character involved wanted it worse. I’ve had characters literally stem from dreams…but just as many feature friends and family even when they don’t know about it. I honestly admit that I find inspiration in the smallest thing. A quirk in a personality can hold me fascinated for hours as I note down each and every twist.

Where did you get ideas for your books?
Echoes of Winter and the eventual sequels stemmed from a program about dogs in the womb. I know, I know…this was a really random program to stem such a long book, but for some reason they showed how dogs were believed to have come about and Echoes of Winter was born. I’ve had inspiration for shorter stuff from my religion, from photo-manipulations I’ve made…from pictures I’ve seen. Sometimes I just lay in bed and an idea will spring at me fully formed…I’ve learned to just go with the flow, jot the idea down and leave it until the morning. Everything always looks better in the morning.

    


How many books have you written? Which is your favorite?
Echoes of Winter is my first full length book, though I have written a short novella, Wolf Rock. Echoes of Winter is my favorite. It features the one character I can honestly say is me…even down to her story. Surprisingly she’s the lesser character but that may be because of how I see myself. Echoes of Winter is my favorite simply because it was the book which helped me to prove to myself that I could do it. I could do something amazing from such a small idea.

What do you think makes a good story?

Twists, turns, murder, friendship and betrayal. Not every book needs a love-triangle…but a straightforward tale is boring. I love stories that throw a twist at you, give you a villain that you love to hate (and kinda pity. Think…Prof. Snape. You hate him…but understand the reason for his hate). I’ve yet to read a story where a real love-triangle gets me twisting…though the Anita Blake series has me interested. I’ve got a whole shelf of those books….


What books have you written and where can they be found?

I have written a short novella, which is the first in the series. It is called “Wolf Rock: How It Began. It centers on the adventurous, love story of Freya, a curious young woman, and Rafe, a wolf shifter.  “Wolf Rock: How It Began can be found on Amazon US  and Amazon UK







Where can your readers connect with you?

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on July 10, 2012, in Interview. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wonderful! Thank you for sharing about you with us! We love quirks in people, probably because we have so many ourselves.

    Like

  2. Thanks Tammylee I love spotlighting. It is a fun way to promote new authors and make some great friends.

    Like

Leave a Reply

