Interview with Barbara Jean Wilson

Crimson Flower Reviews Welcomes Non-Fiction Author Barbara Jean Wilson…

Barbara Jean Wilson was born and raised in Flushing, New York. She relocated to Manassas, VA on December 15, 1995 to accept a Legal Secretary position with a law firm in Washington, D.C.  Within six months of moving to Virginia, not only was Barbara blessed with her first home, but she was also blessed to find a warm and loving church, First AME Church (“FAME”) of Manassas, where she would continue to serve the Lord and receive spiritual guidance from Rev. Ronald A. Boykin, Senior Pastor and the lovely First Lady, Mrs. Helen Boykin, who she looked to as her spiritual parents.
 In September 2003, Barbara enrolled at Strayer University in Manassas, and graduated with a Bachelors Degree in Business Administration in June 2008.  In August 2004, she began working at Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation (Freddie Mac).  For her hard work and team spirit, she has received numerous Division and Corporate awards.
 Barbara relocated from Manassas VA to Massaponax, VA in 2004 and moved her church membership from FAME to Mount Hope Baptist Church, where she continues to receive spiritual guidance from Dr. Raymond A. Bell, Jr., Senior Pastor of Mount Hope Baptist Church. 
In 2009 Barbara put her full concentration on the completion of her first book, which she began writing in 2003. Mute But Now I Speak was completed in November 2010, and was published February 15, 2011.  Barbara is always reminded of the promises of God in:
Deuteronomy 31:8; Joshua 1:6-9; Proverbs 3:5-6; and Philippians 4:13 when embarking on a new chapter in her life that takes her out of her comfort zone.
 Barbara currently lives in Massaponax, Virginia with her daughter Tawanna.

If you haven’t read “Mute But Now I Speak“, you can purchase a copy of my book through:  Amazon Kindle Barnes and Noble Nook; and Xulonpress.com. You can learn more about my story on my Website and  Facebook Fan Page.


Interview:
 When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?
I never thought of becoming a writer.  My English Professor told me I had a gift for writing and should change my major and become a writer.
What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?
I am not sure if I have one; once I begin to write everything just flows.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?
The positive feedback I received from so many people.


Where did you get ideas for your books?
I guess you can say the ideas for the book is based on my life and being a survivor
How many books have you written? Which is your favorite?
This is my first book

What do you think makes a good story?
Sharing my story not only is healing me and gaining my peace and freedom, it is my prayer that my story/this story will help survivors gain their freedom as well.
  
Excerpt from Mute But Now I Speak:
 Chapter One
Innocence Lost
 The voice and body that once belonged to a sweet innocent girl was forced to become an adult at the tender age of eight.  A voice and body that were forced to endure the abuse, threats and pain that defiled the very essence of my existence.  A voice that was stifled and cries not heard by anyone, nor my sorrows felt by anyone. 
While I should have been playing with dolls in my earlier years, at the age of eight I became the doll for everyone to play with starting with my stepfather, who actually was my mother’s boyfriend since they never married and who my two sisters and I referred to as “Uncle Bob”.  He began by saying that what he was doing to me would make me grow up to become a beautiful young woman and he warned me that I was not to tell anyone.  Once the novelty of abusing me wore off for Uncle Bob, he began bringing other men over to the house to play with “his” doll, which was how I was introduced.  I was so afraid.  For the next five years, they would all have their way with me and pay Uncle Bob once they were done.
Things in me began to change.  I started eating more, biting my fingernails down to the skin until they would bleed.  At one point, I began to lose control of my bladder and wetting the bed every night.  The most embarrassing part about losing control of my bladder is that it could happen anytime or anywhere.  Sometimes while sitting in my classroom I would become filled with dread of the abuse I would face when I returned home.  I would come out of this trance-like state to see one of the children pointing out the puddle under my chair to my teacher or I.  The first time this happened, I was in the third grade.
I began to lose focus, nothing seemed important anymore, not school, not being around people for any length of time.  I did not isolate myself from anyone, I would just make my visits as brief as possible.
The innocent life and body of a little girl was battered and destroyed by the evilness of a person my mother trusted in the beginning, but unfortunately, for me, this person did not care and had no conscious.  Because of this experience it would take many years and a miracle to restore all that was lost.
About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on July 28, 2012, in Interview. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Great spotlight Barbara.. Keep up the good work… For anyone who hasn't read her book… you need to. Mute But. Now I Speak will show you through Barbara, what the grace of God can bring you through

    Like

  2. Christine Pauls

    I agree with Ronnie. Great spotlight! Congratulations on this accomplishment Barbara!

    Like

  3. Thank you so much for stop by. I am so happy to have had her as a guest on my blog!

    Like

  4. Congrats Barbara on your book. I'm glad you have found your pathway to God and that he will forever comfort you. People need to know there is light on the other side.

    Like

Leave a Reply

