Spotlight on Randy Massey

Crimson Flower Reviews Welcomes Author Randy Massey…

I am married to Sharon, a wonderful and supportive wife who has put up with me for over 35 years. We have one daughter, Samantha, who is married to Dave. They have blessed us with two grand children: Christiana, 4 1/2, and Gabriel, almost 2. We reside in a sweet little town in Michigan. Reading has always been a passion of mine, following such favorites as: Tolkien, Lewis, Asimov, Herbert, and, more recently, Riordan and Collins. I love all types of literature, with Fantasy and Science Fiction being my favorites, writing followed easily behind. I hope my works will be enjoyed by many in the years to come. You can find my book, The Summoner, the first book of The Legends Of Arth, available at Smashwords and Amazon. You can also find me on the web at my Website and onFacebook.

Interview:

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

Growing up in a family of readers, and being the 5th born, I had the pleasure of older brothers and sisters that constantly read to me. I can also remember my mom taking me to the public library every couple of weeks and how mad I was when I could only take out 5 books at a time! That was nothing for me to read in 2 weeks! I actually started writing in the 6th grade, although back then it was mostly pencil and paper! My older brother taught me how to type on an old manual typewriter and that made it much easier. High school included 4 years of English, 4 years of Journalism, and some advanced classes, including Creative Writing. I actually used a story that I wrote when I was 13 for an assignment in Creative Writing, and was not only given an A+ but the teacher read the story to the class, stating that it was “the best she had seen in a long time”. After high school I dove into the work force, following my brother into the steel fabrication business, and have been there ever since. The writing beast slept for many years, but finally was awoken with the filming of the trilogy Lord of the Rings. Even then, it took me another 12 years to finish my first book The Legends of Arth: The Summoner. The writing beast is now alive and well, and I am currently working on the next three books in the series.

What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

I have been asked if I thought I was a planner or a pantser? The answer is yes! I am a planner, and like to have a complete layout from beginning to end. This includes all the events, characters, timelines, maps, etc. I do a chapter by chapter outline so that each one leads into the next. But, I am a pantser! I find that every character and action has tobe fluid and not written in stone, so to speak. Sometimes changes in the later chapters force me to go back and change earlier events so everything flows together from beginning to end. As I write, filling in the corners and gaps in each chapter, I make every effort to be flexible. There really is something to be said about the thrill of an inspirational moment that a writer gets and then can drop it into a storyline, even if it means having to go back and make changes to other parts of his book! When these occur, I have found that it is an event or a character that I haven’t even thought of before.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?
I absolutely love writing, but I have been amazed at the time it takes to research and setup and plan out even just one novel! Of course working a full time job does limit how much time is available to write. This first novel has been a long time coming.

Where did you get ideas for your books?
The seeds were planted many years ago as a young man, but nothing really grew until the LOTR movies came out. Then, it was off to the races! I have tried to create a whole new world of amazing creatures, some good and some evil.

How many books have you written? Which is your favorite?

This is my first, so I would have to say The Summoner is my favorite! But I am now working on a follow up trilogy with many of the same characters. I also have in mind another seven story lines to follow them.

What do you think makes a good story?

A good story is one that takes the reader on a journey so vivid that they can see it unfold in their mind’s eye. Also, a good story draws the reader in, and then on and on, until the end. It should leave the reader wanting to know what’s going to happen next and they should find it hard to put it down.

What inspires you?

INSPIRED BY MUSIC…I find that I prefer some type of background noise, and music fits the bill very well. Classical works wonders and is one of my favorites. I have just recently found epic music on YouTube, and that stirs the imagination and drives the inspiration. Some of my most profound moments have come when listening to them.

Excerpt from The Summoner:

From Chapter 3:
So, he thought, it is true. The time has now come! The Summoner has arrived!
Delton started to mumble something, but Honol signaled for him to remain quiet. Then they began the ritual of Quam Giltee. In an ancient tongue that only a few now knew, the priests spoke in hushed tones over the child. They blessed her and her parents. As the ritual was performed, the brothers constantly glanced at each other. Sparks seemed to be flying from eye to eye. Both knew the meaning of this child’s arrival to the lands and the peoples of Arth. So, it was with the greatest expectation that they waited for the name the parents had chosen for their daughter.
“Now, T-legen and Bea-Kel, we have come to the closing ritual of Quam Giltee. Do you have a chosen name?” asked Honol. The parents looked at each other, and then T-legen spoke.
“Yes. We have chosen Rea’atee. She is our little princess.”
Both priests gasped. Although Rea’atee meant “princess” in their common tongue, it had quite a different meaning in the ancient languages that they used in the ceremony. The name meant “Chosen One”. Shivers went up and down their spines! The hair on their bodies tingled with excitement. Again the eyes of the two priests met.
So, she is the One!
The very air seemed filled with the sense of expectations. Time seemed to stand still in that little ceremonial room. Honol turned to the babe in his hands, holding her up and observing her face to face. Delton stood close by. He was shaking like a leaf in the evening breeze.
“Rea’atee!” whispered Honol, as he finished the ceremony.
“You have finally arrived!”

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on August 17, 2012, in Interview. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. You have foreshadowed something very important. Being a Hebrew speaker, I am sensitive to the differences (usually subtle, like “princess” as opposed to “Chosen One”) between Biblical Hebrew and modern Hebrew. Our word, Mashiach” has changed from “anointed (selected for office)” to “Messiah.” You're already done writing the book; I wonder how you applied this through the rest of the story.

    Like

Leave a Reply

