Interview with Elizabeth Loraine

Thank you Ms. Loraine for Stopping By!

Tell us a bit about yourself..
I grew up in a small northern Minnesotan town married my high school sweetheart, had two beautiful children and as soon as we could we moved to a warmer climate. I have worked with my husband building and decorating custom homes for years.
After loving every kind of vampire book, movie and series since I was a child, I decided that I wanted to know more. I can write a book I thought, how hard can that be? Well….it wasn’t as easy as I thought, but I stuck to it, and finished my first book Royal Blood Chronicles Book One in August 2009. I now have six books in the series and am about to release book two of my new series Phantom Lives.  My parents always told me that I could do anything that I wanted, work hard, and do it right. I believe that, and live that every day.

I started writing this new vampire series for teens and their moms because I wanted something different to read. I was tired of all the modern versions of vampire books, there had to be more to these long lived beings. Where had they been, what had they seen? I wanted, no I NEEDED to know more, so Royal Blood Chronicles was born!  As in Royal Blood Chronicles, Phantom Lives features strong female characters and action and adventure mixed with romance, friendship and a historical backdrop. I hope you enjoy them.

Elizabeth Loraine
You can find me on the web on Smashwords, Goodreads, my Website and Blog.
Interview:
When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?
I came to this late. I’d had stories in my head my entire life, but I’d never written them down. Now I know it’s what I was supposed to be doing. It feels so natural, like breathing.
What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?
I don’t know. I don’t plan, I just write and I listen and watch TV while I do it. I get in a zone. I’m lost in the world I’m creating, a part of it. I hear the characters in my head and I just write down the conversation.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books? How hard the work is after you’re done writing.

Where did you get ideas for your books?

They’re just in my head. People often ask that, but I don’t really know they’re just there.

How many books have you written? Which is your favorite?

I love them all, I have twelve so far. I love all my characters like they are my children too hard to pick just one.

What do you think makes a good story?
I think you have to be able to identify and care for the characters, want them to succeed. It has to move and not be boring.
What projects do you have up and coming?
More Royal Blood Chronicles, a new series called Green River featuring shifters and a third Phantom Lives.
Who are some of your favorite Authors?
I love Anne Rice.
Who are some of the people that influenced your love of writing?
I love to read and I love all kinds of genre. I always wanted to know more about the characters and it spurred me to write.
How are your vampires different from others?
My vampires are born, royal blooded. Vampires as a race not the undead.
Who is your favorite character that you have written?
I love Katrina. She’s strong, tough, cold at times, she has a mission and she’s willing to do whatever it takes to complete it.
If you could pick a celebrity to play one character in the movie version, who would it be?
I think about it all the time, but I think it would have to be someone people didn’t know.
If you had one piece of advice for an aspiring Author, what would it be?
Keep at it, don’t worry about what others say and write every day. It’s impossible to write if you don’t treat it like a job. Keeping your mind in the fantasy of your story everyday is the only way to continue on.
What would you like to say to friends and family of writers (not just your own)? Your support means everything. If you can’t be supportive, keep your mouth shut!
Any other questions you would like to answer?
I’d be happy to answer any that your readers may have. Thanks so much.


Excerpt from Lillian 2: The Mask:
It was just about lunch time as he strolled through St. Marc’s so he stopped at a small family restaurant for lunch, ordering the special. He pulled the message out of his pocket and read it again. It couldn’t be from a Hunter, who wanted to meet him?
He looked down and shook his head.
“Is the food not to your liking?” the waiter asked in English laced with Italian.
“The food is excellent, thank you. I just…could you direct me to something interesting to do this afternoon. Something different than the normal tourist sites?”
He smiled. “Are you lonely?”
“No nothing like that, an interesting museum perhaps?”
He stroked his chin and then his eyes lit up. “The Goldoni House. It houses the Venetian Theater and Dramatic Arts Museum, a most interesting collection. I know the Curator. If you ask for Mario, he will take you to exhibits not shown to anyone else, tell him Franco sent you.”
“Sounds perfect, grazie.”
He smiled. Later handing a Chase a map with the location circled.
After lunch Chase took his time walking over to the museum. The plan was to kill some time before going back to the hotel. He opened the door and walked inside. A short Italian came over to greet him and guide him to the desk to pay for admission.
“I was told to ask for Mario.”
The man nodded and scurried off. After a few minutes he returned with an older gentleman. “Franco sent me,” Chase said, pulling out a wad of currency.
“Any friend of Franco comes in for free. Come, I show you everything.”
He followed the old man past the posters, puppets and costumes. He stopped and explained about the extensive collection of masks, many dating back to the 1100’s. “It’s said that the Doge wore this mask around the city in order to visit his favorite Courtesan. Would you like to try it on?”
Chase shrugged. “Why not?”
He placed the white beak mask over his face. The scene before him flashed with light and Chase was transported back in time.
The mask was showing him Venice from the time of the Doge. He was rushing through the streets of Venice. He knocked on a door. Chase noted the address and took in a sharp breath when he saw the woman who appeared. A gorgeous brunette, skin the color of the Doge’s mask, with blood red lips. Her green eyes flashed with mischief. “I hoped you’d come again tonight.”
Vampire’s,” Chase thought. It seemed no different than the vampire dens of today. Human’s visiting vampires, hooked by the pleasure given while they fed. He pulled off the mask to find Mario smiling with satisfaction.
“Not many are chosen to see. You are a special man indeed.”
“Why, why was I shown that?”
Mario shrugged. “This I cannot say? Perhaps it is your destiny to know. Then again maybe you already knew, but needed to see for yourself the world you just visited. Many have tried to take Venice, none succeeded for long. We are protected.”
“Protected by whom?”
Mario smiled again. “You saw, did you not?”
Chase handed the mask back to him. “Thank you for the tour. It was very enlightening. Are there other Venice locations you could suggest I see?”
“Many, let me give you a map. Only those that see are allowed access. Enjoy Signore.”

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on August 22, 2012, in Interview. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thanks so much for having me today. I'm very excited to launch Lillian 2, The mask. If anyone has any questions, please let me know.

    Like

  2. It was my pleasure Elizabeth.

    Like

  3. Thanks for this opportunity!

    Like

Leave a Reply

