Interview with Christy Sloat

Welcome Christy Sloat!

Christy Sloat is a California native now living in New Jersey. She enjoys living in the paranormal world that her writing creates. She loves to cook, read, write and be a mommy.

Interview:
When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?
When I was 12
What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?
Eating goldfish while I write.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?
How hard it is to reach readers.

Where did you get ideas for your books?
Mostly they just come to me at odd times. Alot of my ideas come to me while I shower. Weird but true.

How many books have you written? Which is your favorite?
Two so far. I can’t pick a favorite. But The Brown House is close to my heart.
What do you think makes a good story?
Good characters always makes a good story. If your characters are interesting and can keep a reader intrigued I think that is the key.

Excerpt With The Brown House:

“Brylee, I don’t know you very well, but I can tell you are a good kid. If you know what’s good for you, you will get the hell out of that house. It’s not a place you can live in. Trust me!” She squeezed my shoulders tightly. The fear on her face evident and I suddenly lost my voice, finding it hard to talk.
“Why? Why does everyone say that? What is so wrong with my house?” I asked her, almost crying. She was scaring me and I wasn’t used to being made to feel this way.
“That’s the thing; it’s not your house. It will never be your house. That house belongs to the Brown’s and they will not let anyone live in their home. So many bad things have happened in that house.” She pulled me around to a quieter corner of the store. “People have died there. I know for a fact that that house is cursed.”
“Cursed! What does that even mean?”
“Is there somewhere you can meet me another time?” She released my shoulders and backed up.
 I didn’t want to meet somewhere else; I wanted to talk about this right now. Mom was still waiting for me and I was sure my fifteen minutes were close to being up, but I didn’t care.
About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on August 22, 2012, in Interview. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

