Guest Review of Sydney Song’s by Ia Uaro

I have to say when I first started reading this book; it started off a bit slow, interesting but slow. Many times when that happens I give up and just put the book down. However, the interesting part kept me reading and reading until to my sadness I was at the end. I felt as though I was walking along beside Sydney on her adventures, misadventures, ups and downs. I truly began to feel for her and what she was going through.
I was fortunate to not have to deal with my parent’s divorce. However, after reading this I know what it must feel like to have to deal with something like that. Sydney’s pain over it nearly costs her a chance at love with Pete. I was thrilled to read of her interest in Pete. I won’t give too much away but sometimes situations in our lives make us realize those that are important to us.
I loved the banter and the frequent use of the various Australian dialects; it really made me feel as though I was right there in Australia! Oh and the ending; I LOVED the epilogue!  A perfect ending to such a great read.
My favorite quote was Sydney speaking to Pete:  “I did cry praying for you, but never once was I dispirited because I wasn’t loved. Never once did I feel all alone in the big wide world. Never once did I have any suicidal thoughts. You know I went through all that after my parents’ divorce. But simply being near you gave me courage and strength.” I actually got tears in this scene. Well done… wonderful…. applaud applaud…. I loved it!!! 5 stars!!
IA UARO
At 17, a teen magazine published my first fiction as a serial. Inundated by my fans’ letters, the publisher printed it as a book which subsequently ended up in school libraries. I used it to fund my university studies, during which time I was active in aero-modelling, martial arts, mountaineering, speleology… and studied petroleum seismology among my music-playing friends. After my graduation I worked with French, Norwegian and American geophysical companies.
In Sydney since 1995, I now do several kinds of volunteer work for the community, assess manuscripts, and write real-life socio-fiction.
LINKS FOR IA:
Storylane: Sydney’s Song Storyteller
Ia’s blog Chapters of Life : http://sydneyssong.net/blog
Twitter: @sydneyssong

 

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on August 24, 2012, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

