Reyna Hawk reviews The Lighthouse by M.T. Mathieson

This short little story tells a great deal about Ann Barford. She is a 42 year old divorced mother of 2 girls. Ann has a secret she has hid from the time she was 10 yrs old. This secret has caused her life to be in turmoil and her to trust no one. However, she knows the only way to make the heart ache, turmoil, and distrust to stop is to get revenge, and that she does.
The story line is a good one and I like the fact the author did not make Ann’s secret drag on in some awkward scene. She hinted as to what happened and the reader will know what it is; without coming right out and saying what it is. I really liked that about this short story. However, what I didn’t like about it is I feel this could be a GREAT book if more was given as to just what Ann has gone through in the last 32 years; instead of basically wrapping it up in a one or two page general description.
If not for the author’s great writing style and making a short story flow together, I would have only given 2 stars out of 5. However, M.T. has a genuine and natural way of writing that makes this story pull together; even with the lack of information as to how she has suffered.  I think if more would have been given about her emotional distress and exactly “how” her life was destroyed; this would have been at least a 4 star. I am giving The Lighthouse only 3 stars; I liked it but walked away feeling a bit unfulfilled. If the author ever decides to expand on this story I would definitely be interested in reading it again. 
I love fiction, all kinds of fiction, and I will always consider myself a reader more than a writer.
The classics were my first love and, to date, I haven’t found any work written that competes with Wuthering Heights as the most perfect novel ever written. It is a work of pure poetry. Other favourites include Jane Austen and E.M. Forster.
However, I also have my favourites among the living including S.J. Bolton, Michael Robotham and Gillian Flynn. More recently, I have been reading a lot of independently published books and I have found some real gems there. Watch out for Paul Antony Jones!
When it comes to writing, most of my work has been in the form of short stories but my current main work in progress is my first novel, which I am quite excited (and stressed!) about. Please also look out for the collection of short tales with a twist and a follow up to Txt that will be a series of three related short stories, of which Txt is the first.

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on September 21, 2012, in Book Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

