Erin Davies, The Flashlight Reader, reviews She Wulf by Sheryl Steines

In a nutshell, I liked Sheryl Steines’ She Wulf in terms of plot, but I wasn’t entirely sold on other aspects of the book. I believe some of this is due to my having skipped book one of the series, but that other aspects were somewhat underdeveloped or explained. 

Many reviewers have claimed to feel real chemistry between Annie and Cham, but I didn’t see it. For much of the novel it seemed a very one sided affair; Cham the adoring, almost obsessive, devotee and Annie, the tolerant heroine whose affection for him is only lukewarm. From what I understand, the relationship is a prominent story line in The Day of First Sun and had I not bypassed the novel, I might have had a greater understanding and appreciation for the dynamic between these characters. 

Unfortunately I didn’t feel the same way about other components of the piece, particularly those relating to the use of magic. Magic is something of an ambiguous concept. I’m cool with that, but I still like to see a certain degree of explanation. “‘We could divine for them using a written timeline like a map… I think it should work just like a map once I link it to a crystal. I can use the fabric from the demon.'” Say what? There is no explanation to how this works! How does one link a crystal and a piece of paper? Are we to assume the crystal is also linked to the fabric? Why is a office of magic conducting what I assume to be anything from old fashion research to carbon dating if such a mapping technique could possibly exist? In cases like this I feel it might be beneficial for Steines to consider adding more detail to the text. 

Obviously I have my criticisms, but the book is not entirely without merit. Steines’ combining of Nordic and Anglo Saxon culture and mythology to put a twist on the story of Beowulf was a stroke of genius. In terms of rehashing the classics, She Wulf is definitely one of the better publications I’ve had fortune to come across. 

Maybe not the page turning adventure I was anticipating but certainly worth a look. Especially to those with an affinity for the classic English epic. 


About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on September 29, 2012, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.