Aside of Murder by Brick O’Neill

Reyna Hawk’s review of Aside of Murder by Brick ONeill

I love a good mystery/suspense book. The thrill of discovering twists and turns in the story is something I look for in books. I looked forward to reading Aside of Murder hoping for this same type of feeling. First, let me say it is a good book; it’s just not what I was expecting. I really liked the idea of how all the characters ended up being connected in some way; these types of story are intriguing to me. In the beginning as I was reading I couldn’t figure out what was happening. Many times it flipped to another part of the story and I was a bit lost. However, I quickly figured out it had changed to the other characters. At first I thought the story revolved around two call girls; Shelly and Ann. But then when the characters Joan and Sue were introduced I was lost; at first not sure what they had to with the call girls.

What I didn’t like about the book was there was no real suspense. Parts that could have been held and released later were told right away. Also, the one main twist in the story was never explained how it came to be. I don’t want to tell what it is because I don’t want to be a spoiler here. However, it left me wondering just how it would have pulled off. There was no explanation so it seemed unrealistic. I know this is fiction and therefore it shouldn’t matter; but it’s a major part of the book. I just feel there should have been an explanation as to how Shelly did this.

I give this book only 3 Flowers because I did like it; but wasn’t one of the better books I’ve read. I didn’t like how there was no mystery to the story and all was revealed as it happened. Had there been more suspense to the story and that one major twist explained then I would have given 4 petals.

I was given this book for free by the author and was in no way paid for my review.

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on October 11, 2012, in Book Promotion. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

