Interview with Ascentii Phoenix

Kaleb

Bio: Life in Manhattan was stuck on “Go”, but even with the constant racing of daily life, Ascentii Phoenix still found time to lose herself in a world of her own creation. Pencil to paper yielded countless poems, short stories, and sketches from her soaring imagination. Characters and events came to life on the pages of her many notebooks and sketch pads, which remained for her enjoyment alone.
     With a move south came a change of pace, life style, and purpose. The quiet of her new home has served to focus her mind and enhance her creativity, ultimately bringing forth the completion of her first novel, Broken, available on Amazon. Find Me on the Web on: Amazon, Goodreads, Twitter , and Facebook. 
Interview:
 When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?
I was about 8 years old when I wrote my first short story. From the moment that pencil touched the page of that notebook, I was hooked. It was only a two-page story about a little girl who travels to Japan to see the cherry blossoms bloom, but it meant the world to me. The story was actually inspired by a cherry blossom poster saw a poster I saw when my mom and I were muscling our way through China Town. Tip: Never go to China Townduring the lunch rush. Trust me; it’s like fight against the tide.
Anyway, my newfound fascination with the cherry blossom led me to my passion, writing.
What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?
Quirk? I don’t think I have one anymore. When writing on paper, I do have the notebook turned sideways, but that’s about it. As a kid, I would write with my thumb up in the air and my tongue hanging out. LOL. Thank God I grew out of that…. Well, at least I think I have.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?

The amount of work it takes to reach the final product still amazes me. I have written many stories and poem, but they were never edited, revised, edited, or formatted. I know I said edited twice, but editing takes more work than the actually writing process.

Where did you get ideas for your books?
There were many sources: the laundromat where I do my wash, things that I have seen in my life, things I see throughout my day, and my very active imagination. Those concoctions sprung my world to life.

How many books have you written? Which is your favorite?

Hmmm… let me think. It would have to be Broken, but not because it is my only published book…. All right, it’s because it’s my only published book. LOL
Who is your target audience?
Adults. My reader should definitely be 18 years old and up. There is cursing, some sex, and violence in Broken, which places it in the non-family-friendly category.

What do you think makes a good story?
Connection. Forget about details of the character’s whereabouts, what they’re wearing, what they’re eating, and focus on the character’s soul. I want to feel the pain, the joy, the tears and smiles of the protagonist. Everything else is for word count sake.
What projects do you have up and coming?
I’m currently working on the sequel to Broken and I have two other projects in the works that are not related to The Carnelyan Pack series. Of course, they are all paranormal, but I will be on the vampire side of preternatural entity.
Who are some of your favorite Authors?
I would have to say that Anne Rice is a definite favorite, Stephen King, and Patricia Briggs among others.
Who are some of the people that influenced your love of writing?
No one. From the day I wrote my first story, writing has been a part of me. Whether it was a story, a poem, or just a simple paragraph, I wrote every day. It was my refuge and my escape for a very long time.
What hobbies do you have?
I have a few. I like to sketch, I write poetry, read, watch movies—horror and action are my favorites—I love music, dancing, and manipulating picture. The picture manipulation I picked up while I was writing Broken. I was doing it for other purposes, but it also resulted in my creating Broken’s cover. The final product is about the millionth version of the metamorphosis and well worth the experience and time.
What kind of TV shows do you like and do you find that as a PN Writer that you gravitate toward True Blood, Vampire Diaries, Lost Girl and others that center around Preternatural or Supernatural Creatures?
I don’t really watch TV. I did watch the first two seasons of True Blood, but that’s about it. When I do get the tube to myself, it lives on the Investigation Discovery channel. Yeah, I know I’m a geek and proud of it. LOL.
If you could pick a celebrity to play one character in the movie version, who would it be?
Oh, I have a picture of a guy that is perfect for what I imagine Kaleb to look like. I don’t know his name… yet, but I’m on the hunt. LOL. If anyone reading this recognizes the hotness in this picture, please sent me a message and let me know his name.
How are your Supernaturals different from the traditional mythology?
My lead protagonist, Eva, is an extreme form of empathy. She can physically feel others emotion and is able to project emotions to others. I’m not going to explain any further since I would like the readers to take her journey to self-discovery with her.
My lycans are born not turned. I also gave them the Transformation Levels (Tran Level). There are five Level—Nil State, Uni-Tran, Bi-Tran, Tri-Tran, and Full Tran—that encompass their abilities from their seemingly human form up to their wolf form. The Tran Levels also refer to the type of lycans, except for Nil State. There are also five types of lycans—Uni-Tran, Bi-Tran, Tri-Tran, Full Tran, and Pure Tran. The Tran of the lycan is determined by the amount of human blood he or she is born with due to mating. Uni-Trans are almost human while Pure Trans have very little to no human ancestry.
What is your view on the Paranormal “Craze” that’s going on, do you feel that it is a fad that people will look back on and laugh or a lasting interest that will birth classics to come?
I don’t think people will laugh later in their lives about their preferences later in life and I doubt that their fascination with the paranormal will change. Perhaps it will be more conservative, but not fully gone. Lycans have written about since the 12th century and vampires since the 18th century. Paranormal genre has withstood the test of time and I don’t see it going anywhere. Right now, there’s an influx, but even when TV shows and movies move on to the next “Craze”, I am certain that the reader won’t abandon it.
I’ve personally been interested in the paranormal since I watched American Werewolf in London and Fright Night. Although, in the first movie mention was released I was in diapers and the second I started grade school, but when my mom thought I was old enough to see them, I did. Damn I’m old. LOL.
What other genres do you write?
I haven’t ventured into any other genres yet, but who knows what the future brings.
If you had one piece of advice for an aspiring Author, what would it be?
Stay strong. The road to publication isn’t an easy one. There will be times when you will question and doubt yourself, but don’t give up. It truly is worth it at the end.
What would you like to say to friends and family of writers (not just your own)?
I know that we get completely absorbed in the worlds we create sometimes. Forgive us for that and know that even if our minds are in a different realm, our hearts are always at home.
Any other questions you would like to answer?
            No, I think we pretty much covered it all. Thank you for having me. I had a great time.


Excerpt from Broken (The Carnelyan Pack Series):
“You must be Eva.”
Eva turned to meet a set of aquamarine eyes and a whole lot of hatred.
And they just keep coming. “Yup, and you are?”
The female ignored the question and sauntered toward her. “Seems as though Kaleb has gone from one useless engagement to another. Poor male had no choice but to scrape the bottom of the barrel for those beneath his pedigree after our breakup.”
Eva smirked. On the insults department the female was barely clinging to a two. Anthony had called her far worse. She could’ve ended it by simply informing the female that tomorrow she would be gone from Kaleb’s life. Or even let her know that she got out of a bad relationship with someone else. Although, she didn’t consider what she and Anthony had a relationship. Nope, it was more like a hostage situation without the assistance of a negotiator.
She could’ve done any of those things, but Eva wouldn’t expose Kaleb that way. Besides, she never responded well to bitches.
“He must’ve grown tired of sharing his bed with frosty-the-snow-bitch.” Eva met her glare for glare. “Are we done here? Good.” She cut the female off when she opened her trap. “I’ve had more than the daily recommended dose of vitamin asshole. Have a good night.”
Eva left the blinding rage of the growling female behind her. She had bigger things to worry about.
About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on October 11, 2012, in Interview. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

