Interview with Cherese Vines Cadet

Bio:

I was born into a military family during the late 1970s. I’ve lived in a number of different cities throughout my life, including Chicago where most of my family resides. Although I have a background in Journalism, my love of reading fiction led me to creative writing pursuits. I have incorporated my experiences and travels into my writing, which include young adult fiction, science fiction, and fantasy. I currently reside near the Atlanta area with my husband and two children.  You can find me on the web on Facebook and purchase my books on Smashwords and Barnes and Noble.

Interview:

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

It was probably when I realized I could make up my own stories. It was definitely when I received a typewriter for my birthday when I was like 11 or 12. Yes, I’m that old. But it was an electric typewriter if that helps.

What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?
I’ve been told my description is very engaging. I’m not sure if that is a quirk. I like flashback a whole lot. Maybe that’s quirky. I just don’t write in present time. I also like to write with notebooks and pens instead of the computer. Yes, sadly the electric typewriter is gone.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?
I learned that to be a really good writer you have to research and edit. Both of those are like pulling teeth to me. I used to think that I could just write it, spell check and then I was published! Ha, ha…no. If you truly love your characters and story, you have to do them justice by making sure you put out the best book you can. That means research and revision, edit, revision.

Where did you get ideas for your books?
I get a lot of my ideas from dreams I’ve had. I’m sleep-deprived right now from all the dreams I have. I don’t remember them all, but the ones I do remember I write down in my idea notebook. I’m up to 56 ideas so far.

How many books have you written? Which is your favorite?

I have written quite a few because I’ve participated in the National Novel Writing Month every November for the past 5 years. That is writing a 50,000 word novel in 30 days (www.nanowrimo.org). Yes, it’s insane, but my kind of fun. However, I’ve self-published 3 novels: 1 adult paranormal romance (Three Weeks in May) and 2 young adult science fiction/fantasy (Countercharmseries). It’s hard to say which is my favorite published work. Three Weeks in May makes me feel cozy when I read it, but Countercharm has been with me over 20 years. I guess I would have to lean toward Countercharm 2: Of Stars and Dreamsbecause I like the climax so much. It was the first thing that came to me.

Who is your target audience?

I write mostly for myself. But my target audience for Three Weeks in May is adult paranormal romance readers, while the Countercharmseries is geared more toward young adults who like science fiction and fantasy. Young adult fiction is the genre I like to write for more.

What do you think makes a good story?

A good story is one that you forget that you’re reading and wish that you were in it too. It is one where you talk back to the book like the characters can actually hear you. It also has a satisfying ending.

Who are some of your favorite Authors?

I like science fiction and fantasy so I like reading Octavia Butler and Douglas Adams. I once read an interview by Octavia Butler where she said The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy(written by Adams) is what got her interested in science fiction. A good fantasy author that I like is Mercedes Lackey. Also, Anne Rice has an amazing writing style. I like anything out of the ordinary and quirky.

If you could pick one actor to play a character in your book in the movie version, who would it be?

I haven’t really thought about it. I’ve wracked my brain but no one really comes to mind. I guess it would have to be a newcomer. My movie would jumpstart a stellar career!

What song best describes your book?

For Three Weeks in May, I think the song “I Belong To You” by Lenny Kravtiz describes it best.

Who are some of the people that influenced your love of writing?

The people that influenced my love of writing are the same people who influenced my love of reading: all the authors out there. As I got older I began to appreciate the work and love and dedication that goes into writing a book. Some books have language that is just beautiful to read. Other books have description that brings you into a world and an adventure. I loved that feeling and hoped to create worlds of my own to share.

If you had one piece of advice for an aspiring Author, what would it be?

Read widely. Read not only fiction, but non-fiction as well. See different worlds through others’ eyes. Observe the craft of writing. Read the good and the bad. Everything you read can teach you something.

What would you like to say to friends and family of writers (not just your own)?

Please don’t just say: “It was nice” or “I liked it.” Tell me what you liked. Tell me what you hated. Tell me what you felt when you read it. These things help me to become a better writer and storyteller.

What projects do you have up and coming?

I’m working on revising a book I first wrote in 1998 called Elan Vital about two sisters who have to save their land from vengeful semi-immortal beings. It will probably be YA fiction.

Is there anything else you want to share with your readers?

Check out Three Weeks in Mayfor free on Smashwords.com. And I LOVE reviews, even if it’s just to tell me what you think didn’t work in my books. I welcome it. Thanks so much for the opportunity to entertain you.

Thank you, Aurora, for the interview.

Excerpt from Countercharm:

They started across to the next street. A few moments later Ron stopped in front of a big house overgrown with weeds. No one seemed to have lived there for years. The green paint was chipped everywhere, and the porch could barely be seen through overgrown vines. Sydnie thought she saw something black scurry across the weeded yard.

“Ron, why did you stop here?” Sydnie asked, squeezing his arm a bit. “What’s here?”

“Let’s go in, Sydnie,” Ron said, his eyes never leaving the house’s dark frame.

“Why do you want to go in there? It’s . . . let’s go Ron.” Sydnie tried to pull him away from the barely visible path leading to the porch. The sky was turning purple, and it would be dark soon. She had to be home.

“Come on Sydnie,” he said turning to look into her brown eyes, as if into her soul. “It won’t take long.”

“But . . . Ron. . . .” Sydnie’s voice trailed off.

She couldn’t think. She felt like she was floating. Slowly, she let Ron lead her down the ragged, weedy path to the house. They made it to the door. Its white paint was chipped with cracks, and it hung on one hinge. Ron touched the doorknob, and the door opened to a beautifully lit hallway. As they stepped into the house the light brightened.

“Ron, where are we?” Sydnie asked tentatively.

Ron only smiled at her as he led her down the dazzling hallway. Sydnie then found herself in a large, brightly lit room. There were many people talking and laughing and dancing. A strange, soft music permeated the room. It was felt more than heard. To Sydnie, it felt like the vibration made from someone humming a lullaby.

The air was warm inside the vast place where candles, blue and green, surrounded the walls on every mantel and wall hangings and on every table. Several large chandeliers hung low from the ceiling, each one made with silver bowls to catch the melting blue wax caused by the large candles they supported. Even though it was warm, the light radiating from the candles was a cold blue flame.

As they neared the center of the great room, Sydnie began to feel warmer and reached to pull off her jacket. Then, for the first time, she noticed that she wore long, brilliantly blue gloves. She also no longer wore khaki pants, but a blue dress that brushed at her ankles as she walked. Looking around, Sydnie found that the people around her were similarly dressed in extravagant blue, turquoise, purple, and black dresses and suits and tuxedoes. Many of the people seemed to blend into the sea-colored walls. Again and again, they disappeared and reappeared with the only things distinguishable being their brown faces.

Sydnie looked back to Ron, only to find that now a woman was leading her by the hand. The woman’s back was to her, but Sydnie noticed something familiar about the way she moved. She wore a blue dress similar to the color Sydnie wore. Her long curly black hair moved against the high neck of the dress. She was slightly taller than Sydnie and seemed to know where they were going, making their movement through the crowd graceful and smooth. Several people spoke to the woman, but, when she answered, Sydnie couldn’t catch what she said. Finally, Sydnie reached up with her free hand and touched the woman’s shoulder. She glanced back at Sydnie.

“Enjoying yourself, Sydnie?” Antoinette smiled.

Sydnie stopped, causing her mother to stop and face her.

“Mama.” Sydnie stared in disbelief at her mother, concentrating on her face, but Antoinette’s image seemed to move in and out of focus.

“Isn’t it wonderful?” Antoinette laughed and grabbed Sydnie’s other hand, walking backward through the moving crowd.

“Where are we?” Sydnie demanded. She again felt as if she was about to float away as faces moved around her quickly. Mother and daughter moved toward the center of the room, but the distance seemed a long way to Sydnie.

“Isn’t it wonderful?” Antoinette asked again. Sydnie tried to focus on her, but her mother’s face appeared far away, although Sydnie could still feel her leading her by the hands through the people.

“We can be together. I promise,” Antoinette cooed. “Just go to Ronaldis.”

Antoinette suddenly released Sydnie’s hands and was swallowed into the crowd.

“Mama!” Sydnie cried, her eyes darting to every face. She recognized none.

“I’ll take you to her,” Sydnie heard whispered into her ear.

She spun around quickly to see Ron holding his hand out to her. He was dressed in a long-waisted black coat that buttoned to his chin and black pants. In the pocket of his coat was a blue lily. His face looked as if it were glowing blue in the room’s light.

“Where is she?” Sydnie questioned, tense. She looked around again.

“First, dance with me.” Ron pulled Sydnie into his embrace, cupping her palm around one hand and pressing her back with the other.

“I need to find her.” Sydnie looked up at Ron-into his eyes. The swirling depths were there. Soon all thoughts of her mother fled, and she followed his lead around the room. Her eyes became heavy as she and Ron twirled around the floor. Soon her eyes closed, and Sydnie felt herself floating to the hum of a lullaby.
About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on October 18, 2012, in Interview. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you for the interview. It was fun.

    Like

  2. […] Check out my latest author Interview on Crimson Flower Review’s Spotlight. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

