Guest Review: Grave Refrain

Grave Refrain
A Love Ghost Story
By
Sarah M. Glover
 

I loved this book. I give it 4.5 Flowers for my review.

Sarah M. Glover put all the qualities I think a great book has into this one.

It was funny, without being comic, the phrase “Big Doobie” (its actually a van) is going to make me grin every time I think about it for a long while to come!! It was suspenseful with spine tingling quotes like “he swore he heard something coming from the floor above. It sentice water through his veins and stood the hairs on his neck on end. Witha shudder, he placed his arm over his other ear to block out the sound. A sound he had heard before. It was unmistakable — a man’s eerie laughterand the tinkling of a piano”.

I had to know more. This is a book that you may have to put down, but the story doesn’t stay with the book. I found it crossing my mind at all times, and from the first few pages I was hooked.

The mystery of this story was well drawn out. It didn’t give too much away, and it stopped any frustration that normal mystery’s can cause me by actually giving me nuggets of information along the way that kept me wanting to know more.

I found the love story between the two main characters believable and quite realistic, right down to how the female lead Emily kept second guessing herself, her guy and their whole relationship, even though her heart knew the right of it all along!! They had some intense love scenes that almost made me feel like I had intruded on an intimate moment. Its wonderful when a book can evoke such emotion.

The reason I didn’t give it a full 5 flowers, is I would have really like to know the origin of the mysterious curse. My curiosity is still ramped up. I also felt that there were a few story lines that seemed prominent in the beginning and then they seemed to fade away. Her professors story line is a good example of that. It was almost like they were a main part of the storyboard, but that it didn’t end up developing quite like they were planned to.

I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who has a love for the paranormal, for a good mystery or even for that person who has willing read a Harlequin romance… or two!!

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on October 27, 2012, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

