Lindsay Avalon Author of Breaking the Nexus

Bio

I am a wife, a programmer, and now an author. I have an adorable mini Schnauzer and more books than I have room for. I love reading romance because no matter what may be happening in my life, I can always count on my books to end happily ever after. The day I met my husband was the day I truly began believing in happily ever after. After hearing me complain a few too many times that I had “nothing” to read despite the hundreds of paperbacks scattered around the house, my husband began suggesting I write my own stories. When I finally took his advice I discovered that although I enjoy my day job as a software engineer, my true calling is to be an author.
My sister drilled into me an appreciation for fantasy and mythology, something I try to bring to my books. My debut novel, Breaking the Nexus started as a book written for NaNoWriMo and has grown to so much more. It was the conduit that introduced me to a fantastic group of independent authors who have changed my life in unimaginable ways.
When I’m not writing, I’ve found a passion for blogging and interviewing fellow authors. I also love reading (of course!), baking, crochet, sewing sock monkeys, playing video games, and all sorts of random crafts. I have an incurable love of rubber duckies and stuffed animals, and I believe nobody should have to grow up if they don’t want.

Find Me on the Web: Blog, Amazon Author, Facebook Author, and Twitter: @LindsayAvalon  and Purchase ‘Song of the Abyss’ in the anthology ‘Once Upon A Twisted Time’

Interview:

When did you first realize you wanted to be an Author?

To be honest, it took me a while to realize it. When I was in school, I liked to say that I was good at writing, but that I hated to write. Turns out that I just hated writing for my English classes. As soon as I sat down and started writing what interested me, I discovered I adored it. My husband gave me the best advice ever by telling me to write what I know, which is romance. This changed everything for me and I found a passion I’d been missing in my day job as a programmer.

What would you say is your interesting quirk that only happens when you are writing?

I’m not sure. When I sit down to write, words just seem to flow down my fingers onto the screen. If you ask me to tell you a story verbally, I have issues; put me in front of the computer? Bam I just start writing.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in writing your books?

How cathartic it is. I’ve been under a tremendous amount of stress and writing has helped me in ways I never thought possible. I enjoy my job as a programmer, but when I go home I’m done and don’t want to think about code anymore. With writing, I’ve found that these stories and day dreams that have been lurking in my brain for years were just waiting to spill free. Now I think about writing every chance I get. It also really surprised me just how much I love all aspects of being an author, from the actual process to promoting myself and building connections with people.

Where did you get ideas for your books?

My sister drilled into me a love and appreciate for fantasy and mythology. I’m a dreamer by nature so I tend to bring that to my stories. Other than that, they just come from whatever happens to inspire me. Sometimes it’s a story I’ve read, a song I’ve heard, a few words someone says. It just varies.

Out of all the books you have written which is your favorite and why?

‘Breaking the Nexus’ 🙂 It’s my baby, the story that helped me realize I want to be an author. Since I’ve only written 2 books, I don’t have a better reason for it being my favorite 🙂

Who is your target audience?

Anyone who loves paranormal romance. It does have some graphic sex scenes, so definitely the over 18 audience.

What do you think makes a good story?

Characters. They can make or break a story. You could have the most creative story idea out there, but if your characters are weak it’s hard to draw in your readers and immerse them in your world. I once had a professor tell us a story about how she was held at gunpoint and forced to finish some programming project (still not sure if it was true lol). You’d think something like that would be impossible to be boring right? Well, she somehow managed to make it the most boring story in the world.

Who are some of your favorite Authors?

Oh wow, far too many to list them all! The best of the bunch are Nalini Singh, Kresley Cole, Gena Showalter, Marjorie M. Liu, Sharon Sala, Elisabeth Naughton, and about 50 others lol. I also love all of the new indie authors I’ve discovered, but I’m pretty sure I’d be here all day if I tried to list them all!

If you could pick one actor to play a character in your book in the movie version, who would it be?

I hate to say it, but I have no earthly idea. I’m horrible with names, especially actors, so even if I had someone in mind it would take me forever to find them LOL.

What song best describes your book and Why?

There’s not really a specific song, more of a genre. I love trailer music, the kind that plays in movie/tv show/video game trailers. I love to listen to it while I write and I think the epicness and beautiful symphonic sounds influence my writing so that things are fast paced and intense. At least I hope I convey that!

Who are some of the people that influenced your love of writing?

My sister and mom were the ones that really encouraged my love of reading growing up. My sister especially would always feed me books and introduce me to new authors. Later, my husband took on that role and has been the most amazing, supportive husband I could ever hope for. He doesn’t mind that I have books scattered throughout the house, and he never minds taking me to the bookstore for more. He’s encouraged my attempt to become a published author and I credit him with being a big influencer on this.
Beyond that, my newfound indie friends have all been significant influencers. Without their encouragement, advice, and friendship, I’m not sure I’d have continued down this path.

What kind of TV shows do you like and do you find that as a Paranormal Writer that you gravitate toward True Blood, Vampire Diaries, Lost Girl and others that center around Preternatural or Supernatural Creatures?

I like crime dramas like the Mentalist, Castle, CSI, Law & Order, Hawaii Five-O. I also like some supernatural ones like Supernatural, X-Files, Being Human as well as A Haunting, Ghost Adventures, and Destination Truth. I’m sure loving paranormal as much as I do has influenced my TV watching to a degree, but it’s not the only thing I like.

How are your Supernaturals different from the traditional mythology?

My supernaturals are based on the myths, legends, and fairy tales people grew up with. What sets it apart is the fact that in my world, all of those stories were based in truth. There are 2 realms, the Human Realm everybody knows about, and the Mythrian Realm where those fantastical beings live. The only thing separating the reams is a magical barrier called the Nexus.

What is your view on the Paranormal “Craze” that’s going on, do you feel that it is a fad that people will look back on and laugh or a lasting interest that will birth classics to come?

I’m not really sure, I think for the most part it’s a fad. People are obsessed with vampires and magic because of a few popular books that have come out. That being said, most things tend to be fads that stick around for a little while then give way to the next hot thing. I do think it will give rise to some new classics and has opened the door for a lot of creativity to emerge.

What other genres do you write?

None at this time though I’ve been considering writing a romantic suspense.

If you had one piece of advice for an aspiring Artist what would it be?

Be prepared to do a LOT of work, beyond just writing your story. These days it’s easier than ever to publish your story through self-publishing, but it has also never been harder. You have to become a master of juggling marketing along with writing your books and it is NOT easy. The payoff is huge though, not from a monetary sense (though fingers crossed that will be huge too ;)) but from the sense of accomplishment you feel when you finish your book and realize you’ve created something wonderful.

What would you like to say to friends and family of Authors (not just your own)?

Love your author, support your author, but please realize if they’re trying to write, give them a bit of peace 😉 I kid! Mostly lol. Seriously though, love them, support them, and encourage them to never give up. I guarantee you there will come many a time when they want to give up because they have horrible writer’s block, they’ve been rejected for the hundredth time, or they haven’t sold many books. Your support means the world.

What projects do you have up and coming?

My debut solo book, ‘Breaking the Nexus’ comes out on 12/12/12. As soon as I finish that and release it to the wild, I’ll begin work on the sequel that picks up directly after the end of ‘Breaking the Nexus’. There will be at least 4 or 5 novels, if not more, involving the Mythrian Realm.

Is there anything else you want to share with your readers?

I cannot thank you enough for your support. I never thought I’d have the opportunity to share the worlds in my head with anyone else and have them ask for more. I love to connect with my readers and fellow authors, so contact me on Facebook or Twitter!

‘Breaking the Nexus’ Excerpt:
Sha floated, surrounded by a cold, dark abyss. This must be death. It was rather peaceful in way and at least she didn’t hurt. The thought hadn’t finished forming when jagged shards of pain radiated through her body. By the flame. This was almost as bad as mage fire. She clenched her teeth, pride the only thing keeping her scream of agony locked in her throat. She wasn’t dead, though whether that was a blessing or a curse remained to be seen.
Forcing herself to steady her breathing, the deafening roar in her ears subsided to a low howl as she worked to push aside the pain. Backlash was brutal; the Gate must have collapsed, sending out a wave of raw energy that mind had attempted to absorb. Talk about sensory overload, it was a minor miracle she still had her wits about her.
Gradually she grew aware of her surroundings, the surface beneath her body cold, hard, and…sticky? What the hell? Maybe she’d been hasty in assuming she’d kept her wits. The last thing she remembered was walking into the forest clearing. Trepidation welled up inside her body. Inhaling, she barely stopped herself from expelling what little she’d had for breakfast that morning. The stench of blood and Goddess only knew what else sent her stomach roiling. She had a sneaking suspicion she wasn’t in Mythria anymore.
“Right, let’s just state the obvious, shall we? And now we’re talking to ourself. I’m going insane, that’s it.” Since Luca hadn’t teased her for muttering to herself, nor had he asked if she were alright, she surmised he was either missing or unconscious. “Stop being a baby and just open your eyes. What’s there to be afraid of?”

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on December 8, 2012, in Interview. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Very nice interview and list of favorite authors.

    Like

Leave a Reply

