Mini-Interview with Author Michael K. Rose

Michael K. Rose is a part-time writer and a full-time idler. Find him online on his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, and Website.

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

I enjoyed writing when I was a kid and it was something I dabbled with on and off throughout my 20s. But it wasn’t until about two and a half years ago that I decided I was going to start writing seriously. I began writing short stories then, last year, came up with the idea for Sullivan’s War and began writing that.

What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

Hmm… people have asked me this before but honestly, I don’t have one. I just sit down at my desk and write. I have no rituals, nothing I have to do before or during writing. I sometimes listen to music, sometimes not.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?

That people actually liked them. Really! Before I published, I had no idea how my work would be received. Until I actually got it out there before the public I did not know if I was really any good or not. And to be sure, it has been a pleasant surprise.

Where did you get ideas for your books?

From life, from my imagination, from my dreams. Inspiration comes form everything a writer encounters. Sometimes I’ll hear a phrase, start thinking about it and a story will come together around it. Sometimes it’s a photograph, as in “The Tunnel,” a story in my new collection Short Stories, which came from a picture I took of a tunnel while exploring an island fortress in Finland. Ideas can come from anywhere. This is why I like to say that as a writer, I am always working. Everything I see or do can inform my writing.

How many books have you written? Which is your favorite?

It depends on what you mean by “book.” I have published several short stories and my Sullivan’s War series was published as three novellas. I suppose the conservative answer would be “two,” as my short fiction has just been collected in Short Stories and the complete Sullivan’s War story line will be released in July as a single-volume book.

What do you think makes a good story?

Questions. If readers are kept asking questions as they read, if there is something they want answered, either emotionally or intellectually, they will keep turning the pages. It could be as simple a question as “What happens next?” or it could be “Why?” or “How?” But you have to make the readers ask the questions. You have to make them care enough to want to ask. That is not so simple a thing to achieve, and different writers will accomplish it in different ways.

Sullivan’s War
On Earth, a powerful politician has been murdered. When he’s assigned to the case, Agent Frank Allen soon discovers that the man responsible, Rick Sullivan, is not yet finished killing. But Allen will also discover that Rick Sullivan is not the man he appears to be, and the war he’s fighting, a war to rid his home planet of its oppressive government, is not his only battle.
As Allen pursues Sullivan across the known galaxy, he begins to question his own beliefs and loyalties. Will Allen be able to stop Rick Sullivan before he kills again? Does he really want to? As their lives become increasingly intertwined, both men realize they must face truths about themselves that neither of them is prepared for. And some of those truths will have consequences that neither of them could have ever imagined.
Available on AMAZON.COM

 

Short Stories

The science fiction stories of Michael K. Rose can most accurately be described as eclectic. He is best known for his science fiction adventure series Sullivan’s Warand in this collection you will find stories that adhere to the strongest expectations of the genre, such as “Sergeant Riley’s Account,” “Sleep” and “A Random Selection.”
But you will also find stories that, while speculative in nature, owe more to literary fiction than anything else. Works such as “Main & Church,” “Inner Life” and “Pedro X.” explore the psyche as opposed to the outer reaches of the galaxy.Whatever your tastes, you are bound to discover many favorites amongst these ten stories. The first five have been previously available electronically but this is their first appearance in print. The last five stories are new to this collection and can be found nowhere else. Contents:
“Sergeant Riley’s Account” – Previously available as a stand-alone eBook.
“Sleep” – Previously available as a stand-alone eBook.
“Inner Life” -Previously available in the eBook Inner Lives
“Mahler’s Tenth” – Previously available in Inner Lives
“If I Profane with My Unworthiest Hand” – Previously available in Inner Lives
“A Random Selection”
“Main & Church”
“The Tunnel”
“Pedro X.”
“The Vast Expanse Beyond”

Find it on AMAZON.COM
About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on December 12, 2012, in Interview. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

