Interview with Jose AS Reyes, the Photographer of my Book Cover!

Book cover Complete-horzBio:

Self-made freelance photographer to my own surprise never expected to be such a thing. My first decent camera came when I was 27, and I even didn´t know how it worked. That’s why I think I don´t have any special talent for this, but I discovered I enjoy photography more than anything else I can do.  Find me online on Facebook, not to mention you can find my stock archive here and my personal stuff here.

When did you first realize you wanted to be a Photographer?

It came so slowly that I can´t tell exactly when, probably when I found myself spending all my money upgrading the equipment and my life turned into a constant jumping between processing the last shooting while looking someone for the next.

Where did you get ideas for your photos?

They usually came at the moment. I go to my shootings with just a few concepts on mind which is quickly forgotten. Interaction in real time with the person you are shooting within the enviroment you are doing it is what takes me to the pictures I bring home.

Modern looking girl portraitOut of all the photos you have taken which is your favorite and why?

 

Vanessa

Impossible question for me, I´m in love with a lot of them. One of them could be the one called “Vanessa.” I can remember the feeling when I finished it, I just wanted to show it to everyone, I felt satisfaction for me and for her.

 What do you think makes a good photograph?

A combination between technical knowledge, good taste and the right moment.

If you could pick one actor to photograph, who would it be?

Great question, never thought on it 🙂 . Let´s make it simple, I´ll vote for Natalie Portman.

 Who are some of the people that influenced your love of Art?

All the people who enjoyed my work, being portraited by my camera or just watching it. I had done nothing of this if there was not anyone who cared about.

 If you had one piece of advice for an aspiring Photographer, what would it be?

Search for your light, your own style, and let the other ones enjoy your work as much as you do.

0395 Japon-2What projects do you have up and coming?

Now I´m a full time portrait photographer and I love it, so my intention is to improve myself on that field, feel better with my work and never disappoint anyone who is being portrayed. I also think about how amazing it would be to turn myself into travel freelance photographer but for now that side of my photography keeps personal, and I´m cool with it.

Is there anything else you want to share with us?

It´s great you chose one of my pictures for the cover of your first novel. Being useful in what you love is just the best!

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on December 15, 2012, in Interview. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

