Promotions Etiquette Part #2

I recently did a portion on promotions. I am about to tell you about the more specific part of promotions…the interview.  As an interviewer and interviewee I’ve been in a unique position to make some observations.

1) Read the questions and answer appropriately. If the interviewer has asked “When did you decide to become an author,” then I wouldn’t answer with a simple “when I was 3. ” I would tell a story I am an author that’s what I do.  Ex: “When I was 3 I discovered that I had a talent for imagination and I was always writing little stories or copying them from books.  I found then that I really wanted to share my stories with everyone. ”

2) Read your answers from a variety of viewpoints… If the question is “what is your favorite thing about being an author?” You might want to read your answer from a variety of viewpoints….

Tongue-in-cheek…. I like being the master of a universe.

Arrogant…. I like being the master of a universe.

These are the same words but when you read them as tongue in cheek (jokingly) or arrogantly they take a whole new meaning. If you aren’t sure it’s ok to add a 🙂 or something to indicate your true intent.

3) Professional photos… If you are looking like you are trying to be sexy, making a duck face, then you are making a bad impression. This is your job. You are trying to attract people in your professionalism and grace.

4) Do Not Put Pass in any section. If the interviewer is taking time to interview you, it’s your job to answer the questions. If you feel the  question is not to your liking respectfully tell the interviewer you would rather not answer that question. If is an excerpt, I suggest that you do it. The excerpt can draw readers into your world and help you to reach more people.

5) Don’t bug them about a date unless it was during an agreed upon time.

6) Tell the interviewer thank you for the opportunity. They took their time and effort to promote you.

That’s all I have for today. You can take it with a grain of salt. I’m just hoping my own experiences can enhance your Author experience.

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on December 16, 2012, in Author Etiquette. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thanks! Cute expression.

    Like

Leave a Reply

