Son of Destiny by Kimberly Kinrade Review by Erin Davies

13413133Cover Blurb: My body shook in terror, arms reached out to save the child whom I could never save. Her arm hung at the wrong angle to her side. She cried, long blond hair clinging to her tear-streaked face. I lunged for her too late. Always too late. The earth opened up, swallowing her small frame whole. I never save the world from being destroyed. I never save the little girl in my dreams that are more than dreams. This is Kian O’Riley’s destiny and fate. To dream the prophesy of death and destruction until someday he is called to stop it. When his best friend’s sister is kidnapped by a maniac who is more than just a man, Kian tries to change the course of his own destiny. But can the Son of Destiny ever run from the path the Fates have laid out for him?

Generally speaking I don’t go much higher than three stars on shorts like Kimberly Kinrade’s Son of Destiny, but please don’t hold that against me, the author, or her work. My rating has more to do with my personal principles than anything else. I can’t fathom giving this or really any short story the same rating I gave Victor Hugo’s Les Miserables. It just doesn’t factor in my head.

All the same I really enjoyed this piece. The storyline is simple, uncomplicated and suitable for a short. Kinrade doesn’t leave any loose ends which is something I greatly appreciated and though I didn’t feel the piece was long enough to really get to know her characters, I was still impressed by Kindrade’s imaginative style. Will definitely be on the lookout for her work in the future.

3 flowers

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on January 2, 2013, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

