Interview with Katherine Rochholz

599238_481279585227523_1284642920_nBio:

Katherine Rochholz lives in Waterloo, IA. She was once told by her father she could be anybody and do anything she wanted in this life. So she has chosen to be her crazy self and follow the stranger workings of her mind, to see how far it takes her. Don’t get it wrong she may be insane, crazy, and strange, but she is fabulous. She is the Author of the Katy Lily Series (2 books available now), as well as A Guardian’s Life Saga, The first book The Seven Deadlies was released into the public on October 31st 2012! She also owns E.A.R. Publishing Company. Contact her on the web on her Website, Facebook, Katy Lily Facebook, Guardian’s Life Facebook, and EAR Publishing Facebook. You can purchase her books on her Website and Amazon.

Interview:

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

I have always created stories, from the time I was old enough to string pictures together. I remember one time I was telling of a man who could only see the color orange with a painting (I was 4) and I painted everything including the sky orange. So in the end the paper was an orange blob but I could see the car, the guy, the dog, the trees and the sun; and told the story. My family was worried I was colored blind. Katy Lily was actually a verbal story that I started just before I turned 10 for my baby brother. But I never shared anything with anybody (but Marshall (the baby Brother)) ever until 2011 when my brother convinced me to publish Katy Lily.

What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

I have to have music, or at least noise, I have had tv shows playing in the background before. I also can be walking and something will strike my eye and suddenly I have about 500 words towards some type of story. I have stopped in the middle of talking to a family member to write something down (it is okay though he understood he is an indie author as well)

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?

The most surprising thing I learned in creating my stories? How social I have become. It used to be I could go for days before I had to have any type of interaction with a human. Now I kinda feel sad if I don’t get to talk to someone daily. About my stories? That the last name MacCathmhaoil is an ancient Irish name that transformed into Campbell, which was my grandmother’s maiden name.

Where did you get ideas for your books?

Katy Lily came from the need to create a story for my baby brother that showed good and bad in life. My parents had just lost 3 babys 3 years in a row (stillborn) and I was quite affected by that, after all I had always identified as the big sister (in the end I am the oldest of 9) So Marshall was a blessing and I wanted to celebrate that and I wanted to believe that magic brought him to me. So I wove him a story of a magical world and a young girl who no matter the pain did whatever she needed to for her family, just like I would do for my own.

Out of all the books you have written which is your favorite and why?

Besides Katy Lily for the above reasons, The Seven Deadlies, the main character is a lot like me, just an alternate world fictional me.

Who is your target audience?

For Katy Lily it is ages 9-99, for my other books it is more older teens (16 and up) and adults. In pretty much everything but Katy Lily I can use some language and violence, mostly violence.

What do you think makes a good story?

Conflict. Without some form of conflict the plot is left empty.

Who are some of your favorite Authors?

J.V.K. (Awesome Indie Author who I have the pleasure of publishing through my very small Indie Publishing Company)

Edgar Allan Poe (Big influence in the tone of some of my works)

Jane Austen (always a fan of the classics)

Anne Rice (Her book Interview with The Vampire I read when I was 11/12 and the reason I love to read and why I have a bit of an obsession with vampires)

Darby Harn (my cousin who inspired me to self publish when I refused to compromise my art and the tone of my story for a few offers I got for a couple different publishers)

Lana ParrillaIf you could pick one actor to play a character in your book in the movie version, who would it be?

I started to imagine Lana Parrilla as Sandra MacCathmhaoil since seeing her play Regina in Once Upon A Time (even though Sandra is a sweet caring person) I think Regina’s heart is in the right place sometimes!

What song best describes your book and Why?

I was inspired by different songs for different books… Example when I was writing Katy Lily I listened to a Lot of P!NK (Split Personality mostly) and for The Seven Deadlies I had the same song playing in my head for most of the book It was Some Nights by Fun.

Who are some of the people that influenced your love of writing?

My family. I want to leave something for them, and my stories from this strange mind of mine is something I can live them that is personal. A part of me. I can always leave them money.. but my words, my thoughts, my passion… That is left for them in my books.

If you had one piece of advice for an aspiring Author, what would it be?

Don’t stop writing. Don’t let one negative review stop you from writing. I did… I was told by someone I should never write another word, because they didn’t like what I wrote. It was someone I trusted so much I let them see something I poured my blood and tears into, and they hated it so much they said I shouldn’t write another word. It took 14 years for me to show another living soul my work… It took me 14 years to let what I wrote survive… I have burned over 50 stories of mine in that 14 years because of one person’s negative reaction. Don’t do that… You will regret it.

What would you like to say to friends and family of writers (not just your own)?

Support your author. They are giving up a piece of their soul when they write… and your opinion, your support, is going to matter the most to them. Without your support they will fail because if you don’t care, they will believe others don’t and the world may just miss out on one of the greatest stories ever told.

What projects do you have up and coming?

Katy Lily 3 The Veil Lifts will be coming out soon February 2013

In December 2012/January 2013 Hunted A Katy Lily Series Companion comes out (it tells of Sandra and Antonino’s story

End of February Beginning of March 2013 Corruption? A Katy Lily Companion (it tells a very important origin to Katy Lily but it can’t be told until after book 3)

And sometime in 2013 the first couple months my NaNoWriMo novel Demonic Savior will come out

I am also working on a few collections of short stories Fairy Tales of Horror, as well as The Undead Collection as well as The Chronicles of Battle and The Medusa Stories will come out sporadically in in 2013.

Blood and Water is a novel I am working on with my baby brother Marshall and that will come out at the end of 2013

And I am working on Life’s Blood that will come out in 2014

As well as Elemental Mazes (working title) which is book 4 of Katy Lily

Is there anything else you want to share with your readers?

I may do things you may not like in my stories, like killing a character or having them end up with someone else, but in the end it is worth putting up with me. I am sure of it. Because in the end you will see why I do what I do to my characters.

51NGCYlBFOL._SL500_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-big,TopRight,35,-73_OU01_SS500_Excerpt from Truth and Lies Past and Present Katy Lily Year 1

She was about to leave when a hand grabbed her shoulder. She turned to issue a blow, but another had caught her arm. She looked up to see who it was and for once she was scared, really truly scared.

“Hello, Katherine. Where are your guardians?” The man with blond hair and icy eyes asked. But before Katy could answer he continued. “Oh, that is right they couldn’t even keep an eye on you, and you ran. You know you can always come home.”

Katy looked up at him and into his eyes. “Who are you?” She needed him to say his name even though she was sure she knew who he was.

“You know who I am.” He waited for her to say something.

Katy just kept silent; she looked straight into his eyes and waited for him to confirm what she knew.

“Fine if you are going to make me say it. I am Wesley Solomon, your uncle.”

“By blood. By blood alone. Now if you excuse me, I have to go, Antonio and Sandra are waiting for me.” Katy said with a straight face, she just lied through her teeth, years on the street had made her a great actress, and she was the best in her class at blocking her thoughts.

“I know you ran, because there is a missing child report on the Guardians’ desks. Now why don’t we just go?”

“I don’t think so!” Katy said as she slipped from his grip and ran for the door. She didn’t get far because at door where two people she had never seen before, but she knew one of them. “Now, why don’t you listen to me, and come home. Your brothers would enjoy the company of a sister.” The man, who had blonde hair, blue eyes and a thin build, who she knew was her father, said to her as he stepped in front of the only exit.

Katy didn’t think she just teleported and the next thing she knew she was back in front of the MacCathmhaoil’s house. She wanted to go up to them and tell them everything, but she couldn’t stay. Not now that her father and uncle had tried to take her. She gave the house one last look and teleported back to Iowa City and right into someone else’s hands.

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on January 10, 2013, in Interview. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

