Interview With Deena Remiel

dsc_01291Bio:

In the darkest of night and the wee small hours of the morning, I create battles between Good and Evil. I’m a native of Philadelphia, PA and lived for a good long time in Manalapan, NJ. Today, I call Gilbert AZ my home. I’ve been in education for over 20 years, and teach English in middle school. Chocolate is my favorite food, iced tea, my favorite drink. I worship the sun and speak to the land. I believe in angels.

Find me on the Web at the Following links: Website, Rise of the Brethren Blog, The Book Waitress Blog, Author Facebook, The Brethren Facebook, The Book Waitress Facebook, Twitter and Amazon.

Purchase my Books at the Following links: TrinityRelicThe Book WaitressDevil Du Jour , and Brethren Beginnings Volume 1

Interview:  

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?
I’ve always dabbled in writing through poetry, song-writing, and short stories, but it was moving out to Arizona five years ago that gave me the final push to pursue it as a career.

What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?
Some people have huge desks, offices, and comfy chairs to sit on for writing. I find I do my best writing when I’m sitting next to a window, with only a snack tray for my laptop and a slightly uncomfortable chair. Of course, there must be peanut M&M’s beside me.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?
I’ve discovered that I enjoy writing dark scenes and dialogue for my more evil characters. If I giggle and call out while reviewing my work, I know I’ve gone over the creepy edge of doom. LOL

Where did you get ideas for your books?
I’m influenced by authors such as Sherrilyn Kenyon and Jayne Ann Krentz, and TV series and movies over the years that deal with the paranormal. Joss Whedon is my hero.

Out of all the books you have written which is your favorite and why?
I happen to adore RELIC because it was dedicated to my father, and bits of him are in the story. RELIC also offered me quite a challenge with the heroine having another soul within her. I loved writing the love triangle and the struggles of Raphael, a Brethren Savior. I do have to say, though, the ELIXXIR, the third book in the Brethren series has taken hold of my heart as well. Nathanael is my tortured hero, and I adore him!

Who is your target audience?
I actually have a wide range. I believe my books will appeal to men and women, and those who are between 25-75! I even have high school girls reading my work,too. Yes, my fan base is quite wide.

What do you think makes a good story?
I believe genuine storytelling, depth of character, and lots of suspense and romance make for a great story.

Who are some of your favorite Authors?
Sherrilyn Kenyon, Linda Howard, Allison Brennan, Heather Graham, Jane Ann Krentz…

UntitledIf you could pick one actor to play a character in your book in the movie version, who would it be?
I think I would pick Liam Hemsworth to play Nathanael.

What song best describes your book and Why?
Calling All Angels, by train

Who are some of the people that influenced your love of writing?
I believe it was the very authors of the books I adored reading growing up- Judy Blume, Beverly Cleary, Roald Dahl. Then it was all the English teachers I had that introduced to me to all genres of writing.

If you had one piece of advice for an aspiring Author, what would it be?
I would tell them to read as much as possible and write something everyday. Build up your walls against self-doubt, and don’t be an island. Reach out and meet people who are doing just as you are.

What would you like to say to friends and family of writers (not just your own)?
Buy our books! Even if you’re not a reader. Even if we’re not writing in the genre you like to read. Buy our books and show your support by asking us to share our latest news. But please, don’t ask us how much money we’re making or if we’ve made the NYTBS list. Trust me, you’ll know when that happens. LOL

What projects do you have up and coming?
Well, The Book Waitress series is keeping me on my toes! Every 3-4 months I’ll be releasing another novella. By the end, there will be 13 parts. Elixxir is in the final stages of editing at my publisher. A new short story series is on the horizon, as well.

Is there anything else you want to share with your readers?
I write for my readers. It brings me such joy. So if there’s a story line you would like to see, just drop me an email and I’ll see if I can work it into my stories. I adore my fans and bless the day they found me and my books.

Excerpt from Relic


Relic CoverSerena lay asleep in her hospital bed, a small, seemingly fragile wisp of a woman. The way the setting sun cast a glow about her face, she looked enchanting and more like a delicate flower. He could almost smell the sweet scent of a Lily of the Valley in the air. He shook himself free of his musings as he moved into her room and quietly took a seat next to her.
Glancing around the room, he found the sweet-smelling culprit that had captivated him—a small bottle of perfume. Returning to gaze upon his enchantress, he noticed the bruising along her jaw line much more pronounced since he’d first come upon her. A cold, steel anger welled within him. His eyes trailed down to her slender arm outfitted with an IV, and to all the machines with their bells and beeps.
“I’m sorry, Serena,” he whispered. “You wouldn’t have needed all of this if I could’ve done my job properly.” He bristled in frustration and leaned his head against his arms resting on the bedrail. He noticed her stirring in her sleep. She seemed agitated and surprised him by blindly reaching out to grab hold of his hand.
“Mmm…I cannot die. I am immortal. An feidir le heinne cuidiu liom? Can anyone help me? Graim thu, Raphael, anam chara. I love you, my soul mate.” Serena whimpered and fell silent once again.
The chair screeched across the floor as Raphael sprung out of it like a Jack-in-the-box. Her hand stayed firmly gripped around his, and a flood of memories—well-hidden for centuries—came crashing through unbidden. Sirona, Goddess of Healing—the love of his immortal life, his wife—smiled at him as they walked in the mountains. She bathed him in the hot roman baths. She made love with him under the stars. She was lifeless in his arms as he carried her to her temple. He was asking E.L. to wipe his memory clean of all remembrances of her and to harden his heart.
Raphael wrenched his hand away from Serena’s tight grasp, involuntarily backing up to the door. He clutched his chest over his racing heart, now filled with centuries of unresolved anguish, his mind buzzed with too many questions.
Serena’s eyes fluttered open. He must have had a look of utter horror on his face because she raised her hand to her face shielding the bruise. “It appears worse than it feels,” she stated quietly. “Really. Have you come to fix the TV? They told me someone would be coming by this afternoon to fix it.”
“Uh…no,” Raphael croaked. “I, uh…I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to make you uncomfortable. I’ll be on my way.” I have to get out of here. Who the hell is she, some kind of witch? Why is this happening now? And where do I begin to process what I just experienced?
“But wait. Who are you? Why did you come to my room?”
Now she doesn’t know who I am? What gives? “I’m the one who found you and brought you here to the hospital, actually. I was checking to see how you were doing. Now I see you’re doing much better, so I’m going to leave you to your rest.” Raphael headed to the exit.
“Wait! Please, before you go I’d like to say something.” He turned around slowly and stood transfixed by her glittering emerald eyes. “Thank you. You saved my life, and I’m forever grateful.” She smiled, and her eyes brimmed with unshed tears.
“Make no mistake,” he grumbled. “I didn’t save you. The doctors did. But you’re welcome for bringing you here. Now, I really must go.”
“Hey,” Serena shouted as he walked out the door, “what did you say your name was?”
He stopped but couldn’t face her again. “I didn’t.”

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on January 21, 2013, in Interview. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Wonderful interview! ❤ it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

