Guest Review: Unscheduled Stops By Sinead MacDughlas

Unscheduled Stops cover

4.5  flowers

 

This is a fast read that makes you sorry it’s so quick. The stories, for the most part, are well thought out, they have a great foundation and enough detail that you find yourself, without any effort on your part, quickly in the moment with the characters.
The stories here usually have a nice “life lesson” kind of point, that while it isn’t an earth shattering lesson, it is a lesson that will make you ponder things in your own life. I found, even weeks after reading this book that my mind would stray back here.
My favorite story of all is actually at the beginning when the author explains to the reader how her mind works and how this book came to be. Her explanation was a great match for my imagination and I can even see the train in my mind’s eye.
I am not a huge fan of poetry, and happily could have skipped over that part, but having enjoyed the rest of the stories I dove into them as well, and was pleasantly surprised that it was much, much better than the torture I endured in high school English class.
I rated this book a 4.5 out of 5. I wanted this book to be a longer, it ended to soon for me, but the I left off the last half of flower because in just one or two of her stories, they wrapped up to suddenly. It was almost like the author ran out of time and just closed the story.
Definitely worth the read, I am looking forward to reading more of Sinead’s stories.

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on January 21, 2013, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

