Author Interview: Jaimie Hope

images-1

 

Bio
Jaimie Hope was born in New York in 1976. At an early age, she discovered the magic of the written words in books. She could sit for hours, getting lost in whatever story she read or had read to her. She used to dream of one day being a character in a book, so it wasn’t a huge surprise when Jaimie Hope did just that. She published the first book in her children’s book series, The Adventures of Baby Jaimie in 2006, and has followed it up with 5 more books in the series and YA Romance books. The author has released her autobiography.

E-mail:
JaimieHope@JaimieHope.com

Social Media Links:
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Jaimie-Hope/255441457835397
https://twitter.com/JaimieHope
http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3420203.Jaimie_Hope
www.linkedin.com/pub/jaimie-hope/23/588/361/
www://www.jaimiehope.com

Links To Purchase Ms. Hope’s Books, if available:
Print: http://www.amazon.com/The-Road-That-Leads-Home/dp/1481824716/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1357187311&sr=8-2&keywords=jaimie+hope
Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/Road-That-Leads-Home-ebook/dp/B00AR2PH22/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1357187311&sr=8-3&keywords=jaimie+hope

When did you first realize you wanted to be an Author?
The writing bug hit me at an early age. Due to my disability, I wasn’t permitted to “run around” the playground with the other children. While the other kids were off playing I wound up playing games with the friends in my mind. We’d go on our own adventures. Writing them down just seemed like a natural thing to do.

What would you say is your interesting quirk that only happens when you are writing?
When I’m writing or once I get involved in a project I actually interact with my characters. They become so real to me that I often wind up chatting with them for hours without realizing it.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in writing your books?
Stretching out an original idea to a full-length novel isn’t as easy as it looks.  Writing a children’s book isn’t as easy either.  Striking the balance of too many pages and not too few pages isn’t as easy as people think.

Where did you get ideas for your books?
Most of my ideas come from my own life experiences.  Music and movies have also been known to inspire some of my ideas.

Out of all the books you have written which is your favorite and why?
Bless The Broken Road is my favorite out of all my books.  It’s the only one that is pure fiction, based on a song.  The song is “Bless The Broken Road,” and it was inspired by “I’ll Walk,” by Bucky Covington.

Is your book considered Erotica, Romance with a few spicy scenes or YA and Why?
This latest release, The Road That Leads To Home reads like a YA, but book 2 in the series will have more content.  Still I’d say 16+ for the whole series.

What do you think makes a good story?
I don’t think any one thing makes a good story. Good character development, a well thought out plot, and pacing all work together to create a good story.

Who are some of your favorite Authors?
My favorite authors are Fannie Flagg, Jude Deveraux, and Nora Roberts.

If you could pick one actor to play a character in your book in the movie version, who would it be?
If I could pick one actor to play the part of James Clements from The Road That Leads To Home it would be Galen Gering.

Galen Gerig

Galen Gerig

What sets your book apart from others of the same genre?
One Last Time by Dusty Drake. I listened to it a lot while writing this book and it seemed to fit the plot somewhat. Every time she picked up the phone Sara Rhea’s (the main character) life changed.

Who are some of the people that influenced your love of writing?
My grandmother because introduced me to books and took me to the library all the time when I was a kid.

If you had one piece of advice for an aspiring Author what would it be?
Dreams don’t just happen, you have to work at them. After you’ve put your blood, sweat, and tears into your manuscript don’t forget to check out any company you get an offer from. Check with sites like the Better Business Bureau and Editors and Predators. If the company still looks legit, Google the company’s name with the words complaints and scams. You can never be too careful.

What would you like to say to friends and family of Authors (not just your own)?
Writing is a real job, stop fussing at them. They’re really not just sitting around wasting time.

Is there anything else you want to share with your readers?
Thank you for having me on your blog and thank you to the readers.Hope everyone has a safe and happy year filled with fabulous books.

Excerpt From:  The Road That Leads Home:
‘Why are you fighting this?” James groaned. “I know what you said, but I don’t buy that. I’ve seen the future, and it’s me. You know we belong together. Nothing else matters.”

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on March 20, 2013, in Interview. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

