Author Interview: Nina D’Angelo

Nina D'Angelo

Nina D’Angelo

Bio

Nina D’Angelo is a freelance writer and photographer. After graduating from Deakin University in 2005, with a Bachelors Degree in Journalism and Public Relations, Nina briefly worked in P.R. Not satisfied with her profession, she returned to freelance writing. Since graduation from University, she has written her own TV series, produced a music show for three seasons, worked for several music magazines and her photography was published in Aqua Pulse.
In 2012, she decided to take the plunge into the fiction world and started writing her debut novel, Nowhere to Run. Nowhere to Run is the first novel in the Stephanie Carovella series. Its release date is February 14th 2013.
Nina has already started working on her second novel – and the second in the Stephanie Carovella series. Nowhere to Hide is slated for an August release. Nina also plans on releasing her third novel in December 2013, which will be part of the Live and Let Die series. 

Social Media Links

Official Website
Facebook
Twitter: @janinedangelo
Nowhere to Run at: Goodreads

 

16959937

When did you first realize you wanted to be an Author?

I started writing at a really young age. The first story I ever wrote, I was 6 years old and wrote an eight page story on the Smurfs. During high school, I was always writing and I think I was about 16 when I realized I wanted to be an author, but my parents discouraged me. They wanted me to study Psychology, so weren’t happy when I went into Journalism. I never told them I wanted to write fiction. In fact, I only told them recently I’d written a novel. I kept it a secret from them while working on it.

What would you say is your interesting quirk that only happens when you are writing?

I drink cold coffee. Seriously, I will make and it will sit there for hours. I’ll be so caught up in my novel, that I forget about it and then reach for it, realize it’s cold and just drink it anyway.
I don’t do it any other time.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in writing your books?

I realized a number of things. First, I love writing at night. I am more focused, more motivated and just feel completely relaxed.
Secondly, I am pretty good at description. I always assumed that I was more dialogue-driven than descriptive but realized I was good at both.
Lastly, I love writing crime. I started writing Nowhere to Run, and thought “Hey, I’ll try my hand at crime. If it works out, it works out and if it doesn’t then that’s okay too.”

Where did you get ideas for your books?

I honestly don’t know. They just pop into my head. I can be walking down the street and think of something and then I just play on the idea and it goes from there.

Out of all the books you have written which is your favorite and why?

Nowhere to Run is my debut novel, but it’s my baby. I’m really excited about it because I think it has a good plot, strong characters and has a lot of twists and turns.
It’s also a very personal novel for me, as I put a lot of myself into it.

Who is your target audience?

My main target is the crime/thriller/suspense audience. However, I wouldn’t object to anyone else reading it. It has a bit of everything in it – crime, thrills, romance, action and drama.
It’s also set in Los Angeles.

What do you think makes a good story?

I think you have to have a storyline that is strong. One, in which you don’t see what is happening immediately. It needs to move along at a pace which will keep the readers motivated to keep reading.
I think you need characters people can relate to and who they will love.
You need to have a book that stands out from the rest. That will make people say, “Hey, I want to read this”

Who are some of your favorite Authors?

I read widely. Some of my favorite authors are James Patterson, Patricia Cornwell, Cormac Mccarthy, Anne Rice, Harper Lee, Jane Austen, Abbi Glines, J Sterling, S.C Stephens. I could keep going on and on.

If you could pick one actor to play a character in your book in the movie version, who would it be?

That’s a tough choice. I would actually have Chris Pine as Jase Devlin. He has a rough around the edges kind of look.

Chris Pine

Chris Pine

Who are some of the people that influenced your love of writing?

My teachers at high school. I had some amazing English and Literature teachers in the form of Ms Bader and Mr Goode.
My grandfather was also very creative, so he always encouraged me to write and to love what I do. He was an actor and later on in life designed coffee tables and sold them.
Writers have as well. I was always blown away by poets such as Robert Frost and

What kind of TV shows do you like and do you find that as a Suspense/Mystery Writer that you gravitate toward the shows such as Law and Order or Perry Mason?

I love crime shows. They’ve always fascinated me. I love “Rizzoli and Isles,” “Criminal Minds,” “CSI: NY,” and “Body of Proof,” to name a few. I like shows that take you behind the scenes but also that have strong characters in.

If you had one piece of advice for an aspiring Author what would it be?

Read widely. Read anything you can get your hands on, and write. Write all the time. It doesn’t have to be your novel. It could be a blog entry or just random words, but write, write, write.
Also join writing groups. Connect with other writers and learn from them. Social media is your friend. If you’re on facebook, there are a million and one writing communities to join.

What would you like to say to friends and family of Authors (not just your own)?

Writers are not perfect. We will forget birthdays or to eat and get dressed – especially if we are in the writing zone. But we’re still the same person you have always loved. Yes, we may kill you on paper, but it’s the most sincerest form of flattery we can provide to you.
We know we’re not easy to live with. We know we’re temperamental and can sometimes get a little uptight if you interrupt when we’re writing, but that doesn’t change the fact we love you back.
We appreciate the support you give us and treasure you even more for it.
Ultimately, just love us for us.

Is there anything else you want to share with your readers?

Nowhere to Run is out on February 14th.

An Excerpt from:

Nowhere to Run
He watched Stephanie Carovella throw dirt onto the coffin, smiling lovingly at the anger in her eyes. She was fire and rain. Lord, he had forgotten how glorious she was. He’d forgotten her fire. He’d missed her. He savored the thought of her, remembering the first time he’d seen her.
It was the way she held herself which first caught his attention. She held herself like it was she against the world, and she planned to kick it in the ass. He’d never met a woman who had had as much determination as she did. She’d been so much more driven.
This had made him want her just a little bit more. He’d wanted her more than he’d wanted any other woman. More than he had ever wanted Angel, more than Carolyn.
He’d watch her and imagine breaking her spirit. He’d think about having her on her knees, begging before him. Time and time again, the very thought played through his mind. He’d been so close once.
He’d missed her so much. She had come home, home to him. Just like he knew she would. This time he didn’t plan on letting her go.

 

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on April 11, 2013, in Interview. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

