Marianne De Pierres, Aurealis Award Winner 2010 for Best Science Fiction Novel

Marianne De PierresAbout the Author: 

Marianne de Pierre’s is the author of the acclaimed Parrish Plessis and award-winning Sentients of Orion science fiction series. The Parrish Plessis series has been translated into eight languages and adapted into a role-playing game. She’s also the author of a teen dark fantasy series.

Marianne is an active supporter of genre fiction and has mentored many writers. She lives in Brisbane, Australia, with her husband,

aurealis-award

three sons and three galahs. Marianne w rites award-w inning crime under the pseudonym Marianne Delacourt. Visit her websites at www.mariannedepierres.com and www.tarasharp.com and www.burnbright.com.au. Purchase her books online here!

When did you first realize you wanted to be an Author?
Actually, pretty early. I’ve wanted to write books since I w as about 8 or 9 years old. Then it took 25 years of thinking and practising!

What would you say is your interesting quirk that only happens when you are writing?
I like complete quiet because I’m very easily distracted. And there must be cake in the house!

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in writing your books?
How characters are so independent and self-willed. I had no idea! 🙂

Where did you get ideas for your books?
Everything in life is one gigantic idea. It’s just finding a w ay to distil those ideas into words.
Out of all the books you have written which is your favorite and why?
Too hard!!! I do love my little boutique collection of short stories though, because they a delicate, fragile pieces of fiction.

What people do you think will love your book the most?
I suppose I have a reputation for strong world building. I’m big on atmosphere and character.

What do you think makes a good story?
Good characters and meaningful conflict. You have to w ant to be on the side of the main character – prepared to follow them to hell and back.

Who are some of your favorite Authors?
Soooo many …
A.C. Clarke
Ian MacDonald Tana French Michael Connelly Sigrid Undset Terry Dw ling
J G Ballard and… and …

UntitledIf you could pick one actor to play a character in your book in the movie version, who would it be?
Charlie Hunnam as Lenoir

Who are some of the people that influenced your love of writing?
I suppose you could say my parents because they are the ones w ho instilled and nourished my love for
books.

Is this book considered a dark Sci-fi book such as aliens or other decimates the earth or something lighter like ET? Sci-fi doesn’t necessarily mean aliens but it is a good example of the genres extreme polarities. The Burn Bright series is dark fantasy with a science fiction backbone.

That’s an excellent point. I usually just use aliens as a point of reference dystopian apocalypse versus light and airy stories. I am a fan of yours in all your shades. 🙂

What kind of TV shows do you like and do you find that as a Sci-Fi Writer that you gravitate toward Sci-Fi Movies and Television such as Lost in Space or Stargate?
I love TV in general. Some of my favourite show s are Justified, Luther, Spiral (French), Saving Grace, The Killing, Farscape, Battlestar Galactica

Sci-Fi is often grouped with the Fantasy and Paranormal genres; do you find a close connection between them?Sci-Fi tends to crossover well into all kinds of other genres. I find that I often write paranormal/SF/crime.

If you had one piece of advice for an aspiring Author what would it be?
Read. Write. Finish what you start!

What would you like to say to friends and family of Authors (not just your own)?
Be kind.

What projects do you have up and coming?
I’m writing a SF near future thriller called Pharmakon, and a new crime novel, untitled. I also have my first children’s picture book coming out in September from a UK publisher called Books to Treasure. Details are on my website!

Is there anything else you want to share with your readers?
Please say hello, I love to hear from readers.

Synopsis of Burn Bright with Review
0068_RHABurnBrightFULL07.inddInto a world of wild pleasures and deadly secrets comes a girl whose innocence may be her greatest strength . . .

Retra doesn’t want to go to Ixion, the island of ever-night. Retra is a Seal – sealed minds, sealed community. She doesn’t crave parties and pleasure like all the others. But her brother left for Ixion two years ago, and Retra is determined to find him.

Braving the pain of her obedience strip to escape the only home she’s ever known, Retra finds herself drawn deeper into the intoxicating world of Ixion. Come to me, whispers a voice in her head. Who are the Ripers, the mysterious guardians of Ixion? What are the Night Creatures Retra can see in the shadows? And what happens to those who grow too old for Ixion?

Retra will find that Ixion has its pleasures – but its secrets are deadly.

Review of Burn Bright by Guest Reviewer Fay Rayner

5 Stars- Wow! What an amazing story!!! It was dark and thrilling… I felt like I was actually in Ixion…. sounds like a real exciting place to be if you have no inhibitions and are looking for a good time… I’m looking forward to seeing the outcome between Naif/Retra and Lenoir and what happens with the Night Creatures!!! They sound so creepy but yet so fascinating…. (I keep thinking of the movie Pitch black but I know these creatures are more intelligent)

599246_10151007308642779_1799587623_nReviewer Bio:

I am a single mum with three wonderful babies. I like to read a lot and  reading takes my mind of the real world. It lets me escape into other worlds. My favourite book series is the Partholon books by PC.Cast but i love to read a lot of others. Please feel free to add me as a friend on Goodreads and Facebook.

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on June 5, 2013, in Interview. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. What an amazing blog y author!!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

