Author Interview: Janiera A. Eldridge

 

Bio

Janiera enjoys feeding her book addiction when she not

writing. Writing is therapeutic to her during her struggles

with Fibromyalgia.  Being unable to work a normal 9-5 is what

encouraged her to write full time.  She is also a book blogger

at Beauty and Books where she mixes being a book nerd

with keeping things chic.  When not reading or writing she is

freelance writing in the entertainment industry.  When trying to

relax she likes a huge yard sale on a Saturday morning,

rainy days to read by and nacho cheese is her kryptonite.

Soul Sisters is her debut novel.

 

Social Media Links:

Blog

Twitter

Facebook

Links To Purchase Your Books:

Good Ghost Gone Bad

Zombie Cruise

Soul Sisters

Dark Expectations

 

When did you first realize you

wanted to be an Author?

 

I developed mono when I was in college and writing was

what I did to keep my mind off of the pain. Mid-way through

my first book I got this feeling like yeah, this is what I need to

be doing! I was consumed with it and could not write enough.

 

What would you say is your

interesting quirk that only

happens when you are writing?

 

I know a lot of authors listen to music while their writing but

I’m really different. I will turn on the T V low in the

background so my mind doesn’t wander around. It helps me

focus on my writing. Music is so distracting to me because I

want to sing a long or dance.

 

What was one of the most

surprising things you learned in

writing your books?

 

I learned that it was extremely hard for me to write outside of

my comfort zone. Once I did, however, it felt so good to be

able to reach outside of myself and write something

extremely honest no matter how brutal or raw it is. I’m now a

point where I can write boldly and I didn’t expect for that to

be a challenge but it was.

 

Where did you get ideas for your

books?

 

I get ideas for my books from life in general. Horror is reality

manipulated, sometimes only a little bit. I find inspiration from

manipulating the terms of reality and showing the scary side

of life in my horror books. I also watch a lot of Investigation

Discovery channel, which always has a horror story playing.

Real-life crime shows have really inspired my writing.

 

Out of all the books you have

written which is your favorite and

why?

 

Good Ghost Gone Bad is definitely my favorite book to date.

It’s dark, gritty, raw and I really learned a lot about myself

while writing it. My fans seem to really feel that because a lot

of people have told me it’s their favorite book as well.

 

What do you think makes a good

story?

 

I think whenever you connect and fall in love (or loath) the

characters in a book, it’s a good story. If I can’t connect with

the characters the world building or situation doesn’t mean

much. I believe the characters of a book vital to keeping a

book exciting.

 

Who are some of your favorite

Authors?

 

So many! Dean Koontz, Kathryn Stockett, Stephen King,

Anne Rice, Rusty Fisher,R.L.Stine,Dennis Lehane, and Stephanie

Meyer.

 

If you could pick one actor to

play a character in your book in

the movie version, who would it

be?

I would choose Lauren Valez to play Brianna in Good Ghost

Gone Bad. She is a wonderful Hispanic actress and so

beautiful!

 

Who are some of the people that

influenced your love of writing?

 

Definitely my parents. T hey had me reading since I was a

little girl. T he more I read and the older I got, the desire to

tell my own stories just grew and grew!

 

What kind of TV shows do you

like and do you find that as a

Horror Writer that you gravitate

toward the shows that create

similar experiences?

 

Definitely. My favorite T V show is American Horror Story. My

second favorite is the T he Walking Dead. I find myself drawn

to shows that create complex and twisted stories.

I really enjoyed the new show Hannibal as well

 

Do Natural or Unnatural

circumstances create horror,

such as serial killers (natural) or

zombies (unnatural) make a

scarier story? Which do you

prefer?

 

I adore unnatural stories that feature zombies, monsters etc,

but I always prefer a natural horror story. T he scariest thing

we face everyday is reality because the human race is so

unpredictable.

 

Does every horror book contain a

certain amount of gore?

 

I don’t think every horror book needs gore. T here is so

much room to create scares without gore. I, however, do

have gore in my books because I think it adds to the horror

experience. I’ve read really creepy ghost stories that did not

have gore though.

 

If you had one piece of advice for

an aspiring Artist what would it

be?

 

Write your story the way you want to write it! Don’t doubt

yourself as you write either. T he more confident you are in

your writing , the more others will be as well.

 

What would you like to say to

friends and family of Authors (not

just your own)?

 

Writing can be a lonely art. Believing and being there for an

author makes all the difference in the world when writing

one’s book. Writing takes a lot of time so, don’t feel like

we’re rejecting you. We need you more than ever!

 

Is there anything else you want

to share with your readers?

 

I’m so excited about an upcoming book signing I will be at

exclusively for indie authors, called the Indie book fest 2013.

It takes place in Orlando on August 3, 2013.

A $20 ticket will get you lunch with the authors, swag bags

panel sessions and more! I really hope to meet a lot of my

readers and discover some new ones.

You can buy your ticket on the website:

http://indiebookfest.blogspot.com/. Hope to see you there.

 

Excerpt from

T here’s a lonely, speckled with red and only containing a bit

of black lettering, Coca-Cola can just a few feet away from a

bright yellow and made out of cheap plastic slide. I take what

would be a deep breath (if I had any air to trap in my lungs)

close my eyes and press down on my thoughts. My fingers

are squeezed tightly into a closed fist and the strain I put on

my thoughts is so heavy it would have signaled a brain

hemorrhage….. if I was alive. Opening my eyes I realize the

can has only rolled a few inches. A few inches! Stupid,

fucking can. I try to kick it once again, but my spirit runs

through it in the form of a hollow, sweeping mist, and it rolls

nowhere. T he moonlight is so beautiful when I catch it out of

the corner of my eye beaming down on the big, lush maple

tree I was left to die under. Dread spreads throughout my

entire spirit while I yearn to replace it with complete peace.

T he leaves sway ever so slightly in the wind from side to

side in a fluid but short motion remaining forever beautiful

but forever a nightmare for me. You probably want to know

how I died. After all, who watches those television murder

mysteries with the corny reenactments to hear about the

victim’s past? No one, people watch it to see just how

depraved people can get. T hey want to know how far

someone will go to inflict pain and punishment on another

human being. People want to know why one killer shoots

their victims and the other bludgeons them to death. Is it the

blood they like to see oozing out of a person when they

bash their head in or is it the instantaneousness firing of a

gun and shattering someone’s entire life that some killers

are after? No one’s ever surprised anymore at the depth at

which some people’s depravity sinks.

 

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on July 3, 2013, in Book Promotion. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

