Author Interview: Jennifer Raygoza

 

Bio

Jennifer Raygoza was born in Riverside, California. She

attended Fullerton College with a Major in Psychology.

She lives with her husband and two children in Corona,

California.

“I have always wanted to write a book that readers would

love. I spent a lot of my high school years writing poetry, but

never had the nerve to put a story down with pen and pad. I

hope everyone enjoys the story as much as I did writing it.”

 

Social Media Links

Face book

 

Links To Purchase Books:

Amazon

The Guardians

 

When did you first realize you

wanted to be an Author?

 

I have always enjoyed writing, and thought how amazing it

would be to write a book one day. I didn’t fully commit until

about five years ago after suffering from some health

issues.

 

What would you say is your

interesting quirk that only

happens when you are writing?

 

I have to physically motion some of the movements in the

book so I can accurately write them. I always have

music playing that suits the scene.

 

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in

writing your books?

 

I learned how to go back and make sure things are

consistent in the storyline.

 

Where did you get ideas for your

books?

 

My brain is a busy place when it’s stuck in idle. Which

means if I’m bored my brain starts throwing random scenes

at me. Most of these scenes were created sitting in traffic on

the freeway. Music is another inspiration I use.

 

Out of all the books you have

written, which is your favorite and

why?

 

This is my first book so of course its my favorite, and it will

probably always be.

 

What do you think makes a good

story?

 

Personally I like a edgy forbidden love story mixed with

drama and action. I think a good story is one where you can

feel what the characters are going through. There has to be

that one character that you look at and say I know what they

are feeling. You have to love some characters and hate

some. That is what a good story does to you.

 

Who are some of your favorite

Authors?

 

E.L James, Stephanie Meyers, currently.

 

If you could pick one actor to

play a character in your book in

the movie version, who would it

be?

 

Alex Pettyfer as Caleb. My family thinks he would be a great

fit.

Who are some of the people that

influenced your love of writing?

 

This sounds bad, but people who hurt me and broke my

heart made it way to easy to write. I started with poems. The

first poetry book I came across was “Where The Sidewalk

Ends” by Shel Silverstein. I give a giant thank you to that

book. That’s where it all started.

 

What kind of TV shows do you like and do you find that as a

Paranormal Writer that you gravitate toward True Blood,

Vampire Diaries, Lost Girl and others that center around

Preternatural or Supernatural Creatures?

 

I do find myself drawn to those type of shows. I love “True

Blood” and “Vampire Diaries.”

 

How are your Supernaturals different from the traditional

mythology?

 

My vampires are able to walk in the light. T hey are a little

more modern, but not too over the top. Some of my vampires

have special powers as well. I have a female human lead

character who carries vampire blood in her system and

ends up taking on more capabilities as the book moves on.

 

What is your view on the “Paranormal “Craze” that’s going

on, do you feel that it is a fad that people will look back on and

laugh or a lasting interest that will birth classics to come?

 

I think paranormal love will be around for awhile. We are all

curious about the unknown, about the things that go bump in

the night. I think we all secretly want to have some weird

power of our own. Reading books or watching these movies

lets people fantasize about things like that. Keep them

coming.

 

What other genres do you write?

 

I have a book on the back burner that I barely started. It is

fiction. I am not really sure of the genre yet. T his book is

going to be uncomfortable to read. I don’t want to give away

to much but it does have a love story in it as well. T he

conditions surrounding the romance is what make up the

uncomfortable read.

 

If you had one piece of advice for

an aspiring Author what would it

be?

 

Don’t let anyone’s comments or advice stop you from who,

what or how you want to write. Don’t let any criticism about

your work discourage you. Take confidence in your work.

 

What would you like to say to

friends and family of Authors (not

just your own)?

 

Support your authors. It is really hard work. I don’t have the

man power behind me that a publishing house would

provide. Help them out. Buy the book and spread the word

for them. Offer to read it and review their work. Oddly

Sometimes strangers can be your biggest supporters over

family or friends.

Family /Friend just offer love and support.

 

Is there anything else you want

to share with your readers?

 

You guys hold my heart, because you are the reason why I

write. It makes me feel good when you read, and write about

how you loved the book. It drive’s me to write more. So, thank

you.

 

An Excerpt from:

The Guardians

“Vince, get off me!” I snapped. I still had my gun in my jeans.

Thoughts of shooting him in the toe to make my point

crossed my mind, but I managed to keep my cool. After all,

he wouldn’t even suffer that much if I just shot his toe.

 

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on July 10, 2013, in Interview. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

