Author Interview: Janiera A Eldridge

Janiera Eldridge

Janiera Eldridge

Bio: Janiera enjoys feeding her book addiction when she not writing. Writing is therapeutic to her during her struggles with Fibromyalgia. Being unable to work a normal 9-5 is what encouraged her to write full time. She is also a book blogger at Beauty and Books where she mixes being a book nerd with keeping things chic. When not reading or writing she is freelance writing in the entertainment industry.When trying to relax she likes a huge yard sale on a Saturday morning, rainy days to read by and nacho cheese is her kryptonite. Soul Sisters is her debut novel.

Social Media Links:

Blog- http://janieraeldridge.blogspot.com

Twitter- http://www.twitter.com/janieraeldridge
Facebook- https://www.facebook.com/authorjanieraeldridge 

 

Links To Purchase Your Books, if available:

Good Ghost Gone Badhttp://www.amazon.com/Good- Ghost-Gone-Janiera-Eldridge/dp/1482345730/ref=sr_1_2? s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1372252726&sr=1-2
Zombie Cruisehttp://www.amazon.com/Zombie-Cruise- Short-Vacations-ebook/dp/B00DG7Q7CY/ref=sr_1_4? s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1372252726&sr=1-4

Soul Sistershttp://www.amazon.com/Soul-Sisters- Trilogy/dp/1480089230/ref=sr_1_3? s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1372252726&sr=1-3

Dark Expectationshttp://www.amazon.com/Dark- Expectations-Book-Sisters- Trilogy/dp/1480192023/ref=sr_1_1? s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1372252726&sr=1-1 

When did you first realize you wanted to be an Author? I developed mono when I was in college and writing was what I did to keep my mind off of the pain. Mid-way through my first book I got this feeling like yeah, this is what I need to be doing! I was consumed with it and could not write enough.

What would you say is your interesting quirk that only happens when you are writing? I know a lot of authors listen to music while their writing but I’m really different. I will turn on the TV low in the background so my mind doesn’t wander around. It helps me focus on my writing. Music is so distracting to me because I want to sing a song or dance.

 

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in writing your books? I learned that it was extremely hard for me to write outside of my comfort zone. Once I did, however, it felt so good to be able to reach outside of myself and write something extremely honest no matter how brutal or raw it is. I’m now a point where I can write boldly and I didn’t expect for that to be a challenge but it was.

 

Where did you get ideas for your books? I get ideas for my books from life in general. Horror is reality manipulated, sometimes only a little bit. I find inspiration from manipulating the terms of reality and showing the scary side of life in my horror books. I also watch a lot of Investigation Discovery channel which always has a horror story playing. Real-life crime shows have really inspired my writing.

 

Out of all the books you have written which is your favorite and why? Good Ghost Gone Bad is definitely my favorite book to date. It’s dark, gritty, raw and I really learned a lot about myself while writing it. My fans seem to really feel that because a lot of people have told me it’s their favorite book as well.

 

What do you think makes a good story? I think whenever you connect and fall in love (or loath) the characters in a book, it’s a good story. If I can’t connect with the characters the world building or situation doesn’t mean much. I believe the characters of a book vital to keeping a book exciting.

 

Who are some of your favorite Authors? So many! Dean Koontz, Kathryn Stockett, Stephen King, Anne Rice, Rusty Fisher, R.L.Stine, Dennis Lehane, Stephanie Meyer.

 

If you could pick one actor to play a character in your book in the movie version, who would it be? I would choose Lauren Valez to play Brianna in Good Ghost Gone Bad. She is a wonderful Hispanic actress and so beautiful!

Lauren Velez

Lauren Velez

Who are some of the people that influenced your love of writing? Definitely my parents. They had me reading since I was a little girl. The more I read and the older I got, the desire to tell my own stories just grew and grew!

 

What kind of TV shows do you like and do you find that as a Horror Writer that you gravitate toward the shows that create similar experiences? Definitely. My favorite TV show is American Horror Story. My second favorite is the The Walking Dead. I find myself drawn to shows that create complex and twisted stories. I really enjoyed the new show Hannibal as well.

 

Do Natural or Unnatural circumstances create horror, such as serial killers (natural) or zombies (unnatural) make a scarier story? Which do you prefer? I adore unnatural stories that feature zombies, monsters etc, but I always prefer a natural horror story. The scariest thing we face everyday is reality because the human race is so unpredictable.

 

Does every horror book contain a certain amount of gore? I don’t think every horror book needs gore. There is so much room to create scares without gore. I, however, do have gore in my books because I think it adds to the horror experience. I’ve read really creepy ghost stories that did not have gore though.

 

If you had one piece of advice for an aspiring Artist what would it be? Write your story the way you want to write it! Don’t doubt yourself as you write either. The more confident you are in your writing , the more others will be as well.

 

What would you like to say to friends and family of Authors (not just your own)? Writing can be a lonely art. Believing and being there for an author makes all the difference in the world when writing one’s book. Writing takes a lot of time so, don’t feel like we’re rejecting you. We need you more than ever!

 

Is there anything else you want to share with your readers? I’m so excited about an upcoming book signing I will be at exclusively for indie authors called the Indie Bookfest 2013. It takes place in Orlando on August 3, 2013. A $20 ticket will get you lunch with the authors, swag bags panel sessions and more! I really hope to meet a lot of my readers and discover some new ones.

You can buy your ticket on the website: http://indiebookfest.blogspot.com/. Hope to see you there!

Book Excerpt:

There’s a lonely, speckled with red and only containing a bit of black lettering, Coca-Cola can just a few feet away from a bright yellow and made out of cheap plastic slide. I take what would be a deep breath (if I had any air to trap in my lungs) close my eyes and press down on my thoughts. My fingers are squeezed tightly into a closed fist and the strain I put on my thoughts is so heavy it would have signaled a brain hemorrhage….. if I was alive. Opening my eyes I realize the can has only rolled a few inches. A few inches! Stupid, fucking can. I try to kick it once again, but my spirit runs through it in the form of a hollow, sweeping mist, and it rolls nowhere. The moonlight is so beautiful when I catch it out of the corner of my eye beaming down on the big, lush maple tree I was left to die under. Dread spreads throughout my entire spirit while I yearn to replace it with complete peace. The leaves sway ever so slightly in the wind from side to side in a fluid but short motion remaining forever beautiful but forever a nightmare for me. You probably want to know how I died. After all, who watches those television murder mysteries with the corny reenactments to hear about the victim’s past? No one, people watch it to see just how depraved people can get. T hey want to know how far someone will go to inflict pain and punishment on another human being. People want to know why one killer shoots their victims and the other bludgeons them to death. Is it the blood they like to see oozing out of a person when they bash their head in or is it the instantaneousness firing of a gun and shattering someone’s entire life that some killers are after? No one’s ever surprised anymore at the depth at which some people’s depravity sinks.

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on August 21, 2013, in Interview. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

