Interview with Rachel Morgan

The Faerie War blog tour banner

Rachel Morgan authorBio

Rachel Morgan was born in South Africa and spent a large portion of her childhood living in a fantasy land of her own making. After completing a degree in genetics, she decided science wasn’t for her–after all, they didn’t approve of made-up facts. These days she spends much of her time immersed in fantasy land once more, writing fiction for young adults. Find her online: Website, Facebook, Twitter and Goodreads

Check out her books on Amazon and Barnes & Noble

Interview:

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

As a teenager. Although, back then I thought it was something I’d only do in the distant future when I was retired and had lots of spare time!

What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

I can’t write when other people are in the room. And if I go out to a coffee shop or somewhere to write, I have to sit where people can’t walk behind me! I feel like they’ll be watching me write, and that freaks me out!

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?

How willing people are to help out. There have been SOOO many people who’ve done reviews for me, hosted me for guest posts, interviewed me, shared all my book covers, promoted my books to their friends … It’s really amazing. I’m so grateful!

Where did you get ideas for your books?

The whole series idea grew from two words that just popped into my head one day: Creepy Hollow. The rest of the details (magical forest, dangerous creatures, guardian faeries) slowly seeped into my head after that. Other than that, I get ideas from all over the place. Songs I hear, movies I watch, books I read, people’s conversations I overhear…

Out of all the books you have written which is your favorite and why?

I’ve completed three now, and my favorite is the second one, The Faerie Prince. I love the interaction between the two main characters as they grow closer to one another.

What age group do you think best describes your reader?

Teenagers, plus adults who enjoy reading YA fiction (like me!).

What do you think makes a good story?

Great characters. The storyline doesn’t have to be all that original as long as the characters are real, relatable, believable, interesting, and their interactions are entertaining.

Who are some of your favorite Authors?

J.K. Rowling, Cassandra Clare, Veronica Roth, Stephanie Perkins … and there are a ton of others, but they’re the ones I think of immediately.

If you could pick one actor to play a character in your book in the movie version, who would it be?

For my last blog tour, I picked actors for four of my main characters, so here’s one of them: Brant Daugherty as Ryn. Yummy!

Untitled

What song best describes your book and Why?

I had to ask readers for help with this one. I’ve listened to so many songs while looking for inspiration that I couldn’t choose! Someone suggested “The One That Got Away” by The Civil Wars (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MnkM_ebv9BI) and the more I listen to it, the more I think it encompasses my main character’s feelings at the end of the second book and going into this, the final book.

Who are some of the people that influenced your love of writing?

Enid Blyton – The Famous Five books are the very first books I remember reading and loving when I first learned how to read. 
Philip Pullman – The first person to make me love a book SOOOO much that I wanted to write my own brilliant book one day.
 
Stephenie Meyer – It was while I was reading Twilight that I realized I wanted to write books NOW, not some time in the distant future (my brain was like, if she can do it, why can’t I?!). Twilight is also the book that introduced me to the category of YA books. And that’s all I read now!

If you had one piece of advice for an aspiring Author, what would it be?

Perseverence. Slow and steady wins the race. Seriously. This writing thing is not a sprint. If you want to write a great book, you have to be willing to put in a LOT of time.

What would you like to say to friends and family of writers (not just your own)?

Uh … thank you for being so patient! I know we writers spend WAY more time than you probably think is necessary on a book, and you don’t quite understand the obsession we have with it, but … that’s just the way it works with books. We HAVE to immerse ourselves in the worlds we’re creating, and that takes time. Oh, and the time we spend on Facebook? That IS important too – we’re making connections!

What projects do you have up and coming?

Since this book is the end of a trilogy, I’m now going to be working on some contemporary YA/NA novels. Really looking forward to that!

Is there anything else you want to share with your readers?

Nothing except a great big THANK YOU for falling in love with my stories and characters as much as I have!

The Faerie War book coverExcerpt

THE FAERIE GUARDIAN 
(The first book, since some people may not have discovered this series yet. This is near the beginning. Violet has just accidentally brought a human guy with her into the fae realm.)
 
“I think you were right about the dreaming thing,” he says. “There’s no way this could be real. Am I high on something?”
 
“Ugh.” I clench my fists so tightly I can feel my nails digging into my skin. “It’s magic, you moron.”
 
He looks at me and frowns. “There’s no such thing as magic.”
 
“Well, you probably think there’s no such thing as faeries either, and yet here I am.” And here he is. In my forest. My home. I kick a flurry of leaves into the air. Their colors shift rapidly in protest, cycling through an endless palette: lavender, magenta, burgundy, sienna. I bury my face in my hands. I have so failed this assignment.
 
“No way,” he says, rustling the leaves as he stands. “You can’t be a faerie. You’re way too big.”
 
I lower my hands. “Excuse me?” I’ve been called many things in my seventeen years, but ‘big’ has never been one of them. Quite the opposite, in fact.
 
“Aren’t faeries supposed to be, like, really tiny? With wings and a wand and faerie dust?”
 
“I’m not Tinker Bell!”
 
He takes a step back. “Okay, okay. Since this is a dream I guess you can be whatever you want to be.”
 
“Did it feel like a dream when I kicked you just now?”
 
“Actually that did kind of hurt.” He rubs his leg.
 
I shake my head. “This is such a mistake. You should not be here.”
 
He crosses his arms. “So you don’t have wings then?” he asks, completely ignoring what I just said.
 
“Sure I do, they’re in my pocket.”
 
“Really?”
 
“No!”
 

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on October 24, 2013, in Interview. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

