Interview with K.C Finn

7145212Bio:

Born in South Wales to Raymond and Jennifer Finn, Kimberley Charlotte Elisabeth Finn (known to readers as K.C., otherwise it’d be too much of a mouthful) was one of those corny little kids who always wanted to be a writer. She was also incredibly stubborn, and so has finally achieved that dream in 2013 with the release of her first two novellas in the four-part Caecilius Rex saga. As a sufferer with the medical condition M.E./C.F.S., Kim works part time as a private tutor and a teacher of creative writing, devoting the remainder of her time to writing novels and studying for an MA in Education and Linguistics.

Contact her Online on: Goodreads, Facebook, Her Blog

You can Purchase Her Books Online: Counterclockwise (Caecilius Rex) on Amazon UK, The Atomic Circus (Caecilius Rex) on Amazon UKCounterclockwise (Caecilius Rex) on Amazon  and The Atomic Circus (Caecilius Rex) on Amazon

Interview:

  1. When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

    I’ve always been a writer even from a very young age, I was forever coming with home with little comic books and stories that I’d written and drawn up, I used to rush through my maths work in primary school so I could use the free time to make stories – I guess that’s how I got so good at maths!

  2. What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

    I think I’m pretty compulsive – I don’t eat or drink if I get really into my work and I get very little sleep when I’m nearing the end of a novel. I’ve been known to still be sitting at the kitchen table when the family gets up for breakfast, having not moved for about ten hours!

  3. What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?

    How much else in my life I am willing to sacrifice to get the writing done. This year in particular I have produced over 120,000 words so far and I feel like I’ve finally arrived as a writer, so I’m doing all I can to keep that vibe going, and that includes shirking a lot of other responsibilities!

  4. Where did you get ideas for your books?

    Some of the characters came from other novels that I had tried to write in the past which didn’t come to fruition on their own, but I found that mixing those characters gave me some great dynamics, and then all I need was a situation in which they could all meet. A post-apocalyptic toxic world seemed as good a place as any!

  5. Out of all the books you have written which is your favorite and why?

    Actually as much as I love my detective novellas, my favourite book that I’ve written is a time travel adventure that I’ve just finished called T he Secret Star. It’s gone to a publishing contest at the moment, but if it doesn’t get anywhere with that I will be self-publishing it in January and entering it for the Amazon Breakthrough Novel contest too.

  6. What age group do you think is your target audience and why?

    I’d say my books are suitable for anyone from Young Adult up to Old Adult! Some of my youngest readers have been 14/15 and my oldest that I’ve met are 80 and 84, and they’ve all enjoyed it just the same. I think a good plot and engaging characters are enjoyable whatever your age really.

  7. What do you think makes a good story?

    Suspense, drama, witty conversation and great characters that you can connect with emotionally. I like to see a good ensemble of people in a story too rather than just focusing on one or two main characters. And a good villain. For me there’s no point reading any story that doesn’t have a good villain!

  8. Who are some of your favorite Authors?

    I always say Vladimir Nabokov, because the man had a better grasp of the English language than anyone else on the planet despite it not being his first language. But I also enjoy classic author/poets like Oscar Wilde and William Blake as well as the new kings of sci-fi like Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett.

  9. If you could pick one actor to play a character in your book in the movie version, actorswho would it be?

    I never write with actors in mind normally, but I will tell you that my fans have repeatedly pictured Cae, my main character, as either Tom Hiddleston or Benedict Cumberbatch. I can see where they’re going with that, Cae’s very much in the pale and interesting category, though I think these two are both a bit pretty to play his part!

  10. Who are some of the people that influenced your love of writing?

    I was always nurtured and given time and encouragement to write when I was younger by my parents, and they often read what I had written to give me their opinions. That much hasn’t changed – I’m actually expecting a call from my dad this week to give me his report on my second novella Counterclockwise, and I’ve just finished reading The Secret Star out loud to my mum for her appraisal before it goes off to the contest in the States.

  11. What kind of TV show do you like and do you find that as a Suspense/Mystery Writer that you gravitate toward shows such as Law and Order or Perry Mason? Interviewer: “I couldn’t think of any other mystery shows.”

    No not at all! In fact I totally hate those kind of shows! I adore traditional mysteries like Agatha Christie and Sherlock Holmes, but the new crime genre on the TV gives me the shivers. I don’t see the need for crime to be gory and violently described, I think it puts a lot of people off who might otherwise have really enjoyed a good mystery. And I definitely don’t like to get too heavy when it comes to the legal side of crime, I find the lawbreakers much more interesting than the workings of the law itself, so I’d rather put my focus there when I’m writing!

  12. If you had one piece of advice for an aspiring Author, what would it be?

    KEEP WRITING! Whatever it is that’s making you want to stop, even if you feel like your ideas go nowhere and the words don’t look right on the page, just keep on going and spill every thought out into words. You never know where that great idea’s going to be born from, and if you don’t keep putting pen to paper you might not find it!

  13. What would you like to say to friends and family of writers (not just your own)?

    Be patient with us, for we authors are a rare and frankly abnormal breed. If we say we need to write, just let us get on with it, or we will turn feral in our compulsion to inscribe and more than likely destroy the atmosphere of the happy home as our ideas eat away at our souls whilst you make us do horrifyingly normal things like eat our dinner and watch television.

  14. Is there anything else you want to share with your readers?

    I would like to add for my kindred authors out there with long term illnesses and difficult disabilities, that hope is not lost of becoming a diligent and successful writer! As sufferers with M.E. will know, I do indeed sleep and rest for huge portions of my day, and holding down two jobs and studying for my MA at the same time is at times a living nightmare when your body is also falling apart. But rather than looking at writing as one more thing on the to-do list, I have began to view it as therapy and escape, a place where my condition pales in comparison to the trials that my characters go through, and accomplishments in writing go a long way to soothing the ego when your physical capabilities are limited!

TAC CoverExcerpt Of Atomic Circus:

Chapter 14:

“Death?” Kendra says under her breath. “Oh sure, I feel like taking a little drop of DEATH today, don’t you?”
She and Cae are at the back of a very large crowd, waiting to reach the traders at the front.
“I would suggest,” answers Cae as he is shoved further forward by the increasingly large mass behind him. “That DEATH is a substance one would give to other people.”
“What do you do, put a spoonful in their coffee?” She replies.
“That works,” says a suited man behind her. “But it’s getting them to stay dead afterwards that’s the trick.”
Cae is heavily disturbed by the pleasant and calm tone of the man, but he doesn’t have time to judge. “This stuff wears off pretty fast, then?” He asks.
“An hour for every five grams,” answers the man, “it takes about sixty grams to make sure they’re actually dead.”
“Thanks for the tip,” says Cae.
“Any time,” the cheerful murderer replies with a smile.
As they near the front of the stall the effects of the various powders on sale become more and more apparent. A very short man barges past Kendra forcefully, clutching a bottle of POWERFUL. Two young women float past absently after him, sharing out powder-bags full of FORGET. Rather worryingly, several people pass by with dark looks and copious handfuls of FEAR, PAIN and DEATH. Cae makes a silent note to himself to review the mysterious poisonings of last September with Damian when he gets back to work.
“It’s not all bad, you know,” says a young girl dressed in rags when she passes Kendra. “Some things in life are good.” Kendra gives her a sad look, catching sight of a carton of HOPE big enough for a whole family.
Cae suddenly sees how easy it might have been for Brooks to get hooked into this place. If these drugs really do what they say, then one taste of BLISS or JOY would never be enough. The detective observes the pricings and quantities when he gets close enough to the front. The happiest emotions are extortionately priced, as are the opposite extremes. DEATH is the most expensive, closely followed by LOVE, which is apparently sold out until February.
A moment later he and Kendra reach the front. A young girl in a lab coat and a brilliant white gas mask looks them up and down.
“What can I get you?” Asks the girl, holding what looks like a scoop for confectionery.

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on October 28, 2013, in Interview. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thank you for posting this Elisabeth! For anyone interested in The Secret Star it is now out to purchase here: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18303689-the-secret-star

    Like

Leave a Reply

