Interview with Dawn Skyy

1472157_10202405045549244_1085203928_n

Dawn Skyy, currently works as a police clerical for a well-known law enforcement agency by night, and writes and blogs on a plethora of subjects by day. She is a lifelong Star Trek fan, and also enjoys science fiction, spy, espionage, and adventure genres.  She is a runner, power walker, weight trainer, health guru, avid reader, lover of jazz and old school R&B, photographer, political junkie, loves animals (especially cats), and is a proud self-taught computer geek Warrior Princess. She currently resides in her East Coast redoubt with her cats Darwin and Shadow.   Find Dawn Online on http://www.dawnskyy.com

Interview:

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

My first real interest in writing started with my love of Star Trek. Back in the late 1960s I would go to conventions, at what was then the New York Statler Hilton Hotel, and buy stacks of fanzines. I would shlep them home, read them and dream of writing my own stories and submitting them. I actually wrote and submitted stories to several fanzines, and for a year I published my own fanzine named “The Klingon Times.”

What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

I love tucking some of my own real life experiences into my stories. I enjoy leaving people guessing whether said experiences are real or Memorex.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?

Most writers and authors say that writing in “First Person” is difficult. Why? Because one is restricted to being in one place at one time. After keeping a personal blog where I documented the last two years of my Mom’s life, my skill at this was forged in the trial of fire. I also discovered I enjoy setting up scenes where there is a lot of interaction between people. I let them tell the story through conversation.

Where did you get ideas for your books?

I get my ideas from real life situations. I’m also an avid people watcher. I enjoy sitting in the park or a place like Grand Central Station and watch life flow around me.

Out of all the books you have written which is your favorite and why?

I’ve only written one so far, “Cross Eyed: Part One”. So, that’s my favorite by default.

What age group do you think best describes your reader? Why?

If I had to give my books a rating, it would be the movie rating of “R”. Not for anything raunchy or sleazy, but I believe that writing about the criminal element in society it not pretty. Some scenes can be too rough for younger readers.

What do you think makes a good story?

A well written story with a beginning, a middle and either an end or a darned good cliffhanger. I also believe strong characters and strong plot are an essential element to a good story.

Who are some of your favorite Authors?

Anne Rule, Tom Clancy, Peter David, Janet Evanovich, and a whole host of excellent indie authors.

Robert-Griffin-IIIIf you could pick one actor to play a character in your book in the movie version, who would it be?

I really don’t have a specific actor picked out to fit Russell’s role. I do have a couple of football players in mind. RG111 is one.

What song best describes your book and Why?

I pick the song “Superstitious.” By Stevie Wonder. Because there are so many suspicious things going on in what is supposed to be a benign activity.

Who are some of the people that influenced your love of writing?

It was mostly friends and fellow writers I’ve met and interacted with over years.

If you had one piece of advice for an aspiring Author, what would it be?

My advice would be to always be ready to write. These days with tablets, I-pads and smartphones there are many apps which assist in taking notes or producing full documents. All you would need to do then is to upload to the cloud and access them on your PC or laptop. I highly recommend the Evernote app. Also never hesitate to go low tech, and carry a pen, composition notebook or pad. And you don’t have to write an entire story in one setting. A few lines here and there on a regular basis and you’ll be inspired to write even more.

What would you like to say to friends and family of writers (not just your own)?

The art of writing is a solitary one. Often times we must cloister ourselves in order to properly practice our craft. The best thing to give us is space and time to write. We writers also need a lot of encouragement. Let us know that you are there with us and encourage us to keep up the good work.

What projects do you have up and coming?

I currently have Part Two of “Cross Eyed” in the works. I promise “Cross Eyed: Part Two” is going to be a full sized novel, full of surprises, and open with a bang! I also have a completed vampire novel on the back burner.

Is there anything else you want to share with your readers?

I’ve only just begun to write!

89bece2a789740d299efc4627aa5b286a846552cExcerpt “Cross Eyed: Part One”

Darlene Holt surprised me when she showed up at my tiny office one late morning. Shockingly, she was sporting dreadlocks, decked out in jeans, tee-shirt and running shoes. Unlike me, once she reached young adulthood, Darlene was all about dressing her black butt off. She made doubly sure to do this when out of uniform, and even when she was in character, dressed as a Klingon. Yep, we did that too. . . .

Everything Darlene wore had to be name brand, costly and absolutely no knock offs. Unlike me, she took a different avenue when she left “The Job.” She started her own private security (body guard) company. All ten of her employees were either ex-cops like her, or ex-military. Paladin Security “covered” several well-heeled clients and celebrities. In addition, Darlene wrote and independently published eleven books in a popular detective series, and was currently writing the eighth.

When she wasn’t busy herding and protecting clients like arrant ducklings, she occasionally went on book tours and signings. Darlene was well off financially, but now she was dressed like she was either broke or flying low under the radar.

After we hugged, and both settled with mugs of green tea, Darlene started telling me her story. Now that I look back at what she told me, this is exactly why I never joined fan clubs.

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on December 28, 2013, in Giveaway, Interview. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

