Interview, Giveway and Blog Tour Stop for Golden Dunes of Renhala by Amy Joy Lutchen

Golden Dunes banner
This is my stop during the blog tour for Golden Dunes of Renhala (Renhala #2) by Amy Joy Lutchen. This blog tour is organized by Lola’s Blog Tours . This blog tour runs from 13 January till 26 January, you can view the whole tour schedule on the Golden Dunes of Renhala blog tour page on the website of Lola’s Blog Tours.

 Interview:

1) When did you first realize you wanted to be an Author?

While in college, I became very interested in an English class in which my professor repeatedly tried getting me to write more, and more, and more, but my real boost was during a really rough patch in my life. It seemed that the wheel that was my life wasn’t moving to rotate me back on top and all I could feel was my constant slapping upon the pavement. I wrote to strengthen my tread and to change the words that were my life, molding them into something magical and fantastical instead. I wrote a story, and knew I had to share it. Since then I haven’t stopped!

2) What would you say is your interesting quirk that only happens when you are writing?

Oh goodness… Okay, well if I have to admit something, here goes: I nibble on my nails! Don’t ask me why and don’t try to psychoanalyze me, because you’ll get nowhere.

3) What was one of the most surprising things you learned in writing your books?

The amount of blood, sweat, and tears that goes into publishing. MY GOD! I had absolutely no clue.

4) Where did you get ideas for your books?

My children are a major influence in my ideas for my books, along with a particularly twisted spot in my brain that is totally under the influence of something wicked.

5) Out of all the books you have written which is your favorite and why?

I’ve only begun to write my first series, so I’m going to have to say the first book, Renhala. It revealed a new path for me—a path that was always there, but was littered with doubt.

6) What do you think makes a good story?

Most definitely characters that you feel for, even if they’re seven-hundred-pound, seven-foot-tall furry monsters that stink like rotten eggs; if you grow to love them, kudos to the author.

7) Who are some of your favorite Authors?

Stephen King and Neil Gaiman. Did I say Stephen King?

Picture from IMDB

Picture from IMDB

8) If you could pick one actor to play a character in your book in the movie version, who would it be?

Picture of the Actor So in my Renhala series, I have this character who is all swoon-worthy with big blue eyes and muscles and a great physique. Oh, and he’s a soulspeaker, which means he can speak truths directly to another soul, ultimately making him swoon-worthy by the eyes AND the soul. When I first wrote in the character I immediately knew who would play him in the movie… Chris Hemsworth, if you’re reading this, I’m so sorry, but you need to stop calling me. The screenplay isn’t written yet.

9) Who are some of the people that influenced your love of writing?

Most definitely my mother. Without her, my creative spark would have been doused long ago.

10) What kind of TV shows do you like and do you find that as a Paranormal Writer that you gravitate toward True Blood, Vampire Diaries, Lost Girl and others that center around Preternatural or Supernatural Creatures?

I actually do not watch many television shows and yes, I know that probably makes me a weirdo. I can say, however, that I do watch American Horror Story, and one of my favs of all time is Fringe. I LOVE WALTER!! Movies are more my thing. Thor is on a constant loop.

11) How are your Supernaturals different from the traditional mythology?

In the realm of Renhala you will meet a few new “species.” Grebles and meeples are specific to Renhala and I guess you’ll just have to find out for yourself… Let’s just say that you will see fluffy white rabbits in an entirely different light.

12) What is your view on the Paranormal “Craze” that’s going on, do you feel that it is a fad that people will look back on and laugh or a lasting interest that will birth classics to come?

Paranormal has been here A LONG TIME. It just seems that people didn’t realize it. It’s a permanent fixture in the bookish community, methinks.

13) What other genres do you write?

Currently published: only urban fantasy, but I’m working on a paranormal teen book. I’ve also got a horror story brewing in my brain, MWUAHAHA…

14) If you had one piece of advice for an aspiring Author what would it be?

Invest in your most preferred form of caffeine. Also, keep a SECRET stash of it, away from all other life forms.

15) What would you like to say to friends and family of Authors (not just your own)?

THIS IS AN AWESOME QUESTION! To friends and families of authors, I say please pleASE PLEASE do not take it personally when an author suddenly appears to be looking through you and only nodding their head when you are speaking to them. And, when they bound off to find a post-it note and begin violently scribbling on it, don’t walk away, for it’s only a momentary lapse in your conversation that you are supposed to ignore.

16) Is there anything else you want to share with your readers?

I’m a Gemini—don’t judge.

Books: 

Golden Dunes cover artGolden Dunes of Renhala (Renhala #2)
by Amy Joy Lutchen

Genre: Urban Fantasy
Age category: New Adult
Release Date: November 26, 2013

Blurb:
How do you live with a secret so dark and so deeply woven into your being that it threatens to smother your very existence, with no known way out? Use it to your advantage.
Kailey Rooke, karmelean, and now a possibly unethical karma-for-hire, has spent the past year jumping from project to project without any real hope for salvation. With repercussions from her actions at every turn, she discovers that as time goes on, she loses a bit more of herself to that which feeds on her anguish–that which is thriving inside her own body.
When a new contract to find a missing girl arises, Kailey attempts to put her past and its associated problems on the back burner, but she soon finds out that treachery and deceit lie shortly ahead in Golden Dunes, only giving face to new problems, with one leading right back to her childhood past.
She struggles to complete her contract as her own life teeters on a fulcrum, constantly tipping according to karma’s whim. How long will she keep her balance? Which way will she fall?

You can find Golden Dunes of Renhala on Goodreads

You can buy Golden Dunes of Renhala here:
Amazon
B&N
Kobo

Some information about the first book in this series:

Renhala ebook Final Cover ArtRenhala (Renhala #1)
By Amy Joy Lutchen

Genre: Urban Fantasy
Age category: New Adult
Release Date: 26 September, 2012

Blurb:
Kailey Rooke, timid accountant dedicated to philanthropic work, finds herself spiraling into a deep depression after she suffers a horrifyingly odd and humiliating assault, to only discover more of these freakish assaults occurring across the globe.
A chance discovery leads Kailey to a meeting with elderly Gunthreon, actual master of persuasion. Gunthreon, who seems to know too much of Kailey’s history for her liking, opens Kailey’s eyes to a coexisting magical realm she never knew existed: Renhala, while entrusting her with the knowledge of her newfound power as karmelean, serving as a beacon to the Higher Ones. She soon discovers that Renhala is in danger, and this danger has been leaking into her own realm. As she uncovers secrets within herself, and attempts to toughen up, she fuses with an unlikely band of fellow travelers/creatures, falls into an unexpected love triangle, and finds the courage to master a new deadly weapon.
As blood is shed and puzzles near completion, Kailey pulls from deep within herself, conjuring up mystical qualities that enable her to astonish as once predicted at her birth, but despite the newfound strength, Kailey will discover that monsters not only come in ugly packages, but can be easily disguised as those she has come to love and trust.

You can find Renhala on Goodreads

You can grab your free copy of Renhala here:
Amazon
B&N
Kobo
Smashwords

Amy-Joy-Lutchen-pic
About the Author:
Was born in Chicago and slept in a dresser drawer for the first few weeks of my life, marking me as a future claustrophobe.

I studied at the University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana (man I grew up quick), where I became a number, but decided it was a good number.

I write with plenty of snacks in hand, making sure they are not in multiples of three. That number makes me nervous.

Author of the Renhala series.

You can find and contact Amy here:
Website – FacebookTwitter – Goodreads

golden dunesgiveaway pictureThere is a tour wide giveaway for the blog tour for Golden Dunes of Renhala. Here is what you can win: signed Renhala hardcover, signed bookmark, tea(s), two fun pouches (one with a skull, the other the word “LOVE”), a snake ring and $25 Amazon or Barnes & Noble gift card.
You can enter the giveaway here:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on January 25, 2014, in Blog Tour, Interview and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

