No More Goddesses Blog Tour

nmg3tNo More Goddesses: 

Jordan Lake discovers an ancient bracelet in her grandmother’s house and uncovers a family mystery that links her favorite actress, Audrey Hepburn, a romantic movie, and an aunt she never knew. Jordan hopes the bracelet will bring her love. Instead, it brings one nightmare after another, unleashing Hathor, the Egyptian love goddess, who decides it’s fun to mess with the McKnight High School social scene. Jordan holds the key to vanquish Hathor, but will she figure out what it is in time to save her school, one of her best friends, and get a date to the Valentine’s Day dance?

 

When did you first realize you wanted to be an Author?

After I did a sixth grade writing assignment on Nixon visiting China. I acted like I was a journalist and did my own take on his visit. My teacher, Mrs. Clements, told me I should seriously think about being an author. My High School English teacher, Mr. Warner, also encouraged me to continue writing as I was talented.

What would you say is your interesting quirk that only happens when you are writing?

Sometimes it’s hard to get out of the world I’m creating. I feel as if I’m still in it and walking in a fog. A few people have commented on this.

Also I have to have a Playlist from my project going on while I’m writing in order to get into the minds of my characters.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in writing your books?

One had to be finding out that something my sister-in-law commented on actually was real. She commented on how the government was stockpiling coffins and hiding them. It sounded like a bad dystopian premise but I looked it up on YouTube and found it! **I ended up using it in one of my projects.

Where did you get ideas for your books?

My dreams. Seriously. I have very vivid dreams where I see, feel, hear, and even taste in 3D.

Out of all the books you have written which is your favorite and why?

That’s hard. I’d say each of my books have something that I loved about them. Earrings of Ixtumea with the Latina protagonist; Crossed Out that was inspired from an experience I had right after my sister was murdered; No More Goddesses having me discover Audrey Hepburn and falling totally and completely in love with her.

What do you think makes a good story?

Voice. If the voice is there? I’ll follow that author anywhere!

Who are some of your favorite Authors?

Diana Gabaldon; Heidi Kling; Tessa Gratton; Linda Singleton; Marlene Perez; Amy Tan and so many others!

If you could pick one actor to play a character in your book in the movie version, who would it be? Picture of the Actor

I love Selena Gomez and think she’d be perfect for Selena in No More Goddesses

unnamed (1)

I love this one model for Jordan

iStock_000023267670XSmall

Who are some of the people that influenced your love of writing?

Tessa Gratton and the other Merry Sister’s of Fate with how they weave magic with words. Linda Singleton, Marlene Perez and others who are so encouraging of my own writing.

What kind of TV shows do you like and do you find that as a Paranormal Writer that you gravitate toward True Blood, Vampire Diaries, Lost Girl and others that center around Preternatural or Supernatural Creatures?

I’m a huge fan of The Vampire Diaries. Seriously, a little Damon eye candy can make a bad day not look so bad. Huge sigh…

damon_salvatore___tvd_by_tomsgg-d32sh1g

How are your Supernaturals different from the traditional mythology?

In Earrings of Ixtumea I based my fantasy world on Mesoamerican/Mexican urban legends. In No More Goddesses I decided to use the goddess of love from different cultures. Hathor in this book; Aphrodite in my second book.

What is your view on the Paranormal “Craze” that’s going on, do you feel that it is a fad that people will look back on and laugh or a lasting interest that will birth classics to come?

I love paranormals. I blame it on my family. My mother loved having picnics in the cemetery. She also took me to my first psychic visit. I grew up with her using our horoscope signs to see how we’d be. So it’s kind of in my blood. I also think it really doesn’t matter if others roll their eyes at a certain genre if the voice is there.

What other genres do you write?

My current project is more edgy and might be more crossover. I’ve also written essays and poetry that have been published in chapbooks and a national magazine.

If you had one piece of advice for an aspiring Author what would it be?

Be persistent. Don’t give up.

Is there anything else you want to share with your readers?

Thanks for coming by and for reading and commenting on my stories!

862733Bio:

I grew up in Sacramento, California, the oldest of seven. I earned an elementary teaching degree from Brigham Young University.
I’ve been a telemarketer, library helper at the university, assistant manager, sales clerk, tutor, and bilingual teacher. Now I’m a stay-at-home mom and writer.
I love to read and write!
I am also a reviewer for Young Adults (& Kids!) Book Central.

Find Kim Online: thS3ZPJ4ON website icon

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on January 26, 2014, in Blog Tour, Interview and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thanks for being on the tour, Elizabeth!!!

    Like

  2. Thanks for hosting me, Elizabeth!

    Like

Leave a Reply

