Interview with DiVoran Lites

Divoran LitesBio:

DiVoran Lites is the author of the Florida Springs Trilogy, which includes Amazon Bestselling Books: Clear Spring: Book 3 (The Florida Trilogy) (Volume 3), Sacred Spring: Book One Florida Springs Trilogy (Florida Spring Trilogy), Living Spring (Florida Trilogy).

DiVoran loves to read poetry and gets delight from writing it, too. Born in Nevada, she grew up in Colorado and New Mexico. She and her husband, Bill, along with their young children, moved to Florida in 1965 to participate in the Space program. The house backs on a nature sanctuary, and DiVoran enjoys daily walks through the beautiful Florida woods

DiVoran paints her own book covers. If you would like to see more of her art, please visit her at http://www.creativeartworks.com – To visit DiVoran’s book website click HERE, DiVoran is also a regular blogger at Old Things R New

Buy Rebekah’s Books: Rebekah Lyn Books, Amazon

Interview:

1) When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer? When I was seven years old, my parents owned a small bar and restaurant in the Wet Mountain Valley in Colorado. One day Dad bought Mother a new typewriter. It was in a back booth and I sat down to write the story of my life. When Dad heard what I was doing, he said, “It’s going to be a very short story.” Maybe so, but it started a lifelong love affair with writing.

2) What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk? I try not to interrupt any of my daily routines to write. Is that interesting? It makes me happy and keeps me productive. Besides that, writing is one of my daily routines. I get up at 5:30 every day to work on my compost, which is my journal. My daily routine also includes meals, walks, naps, reading…things like that.

3) What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books? I learned that creating one book made me excited about creating another and then another.

4) Where did you get ideas for your books? The first desire to write a novel came when our family was camping at DeLeon Springs in central Florida. The campground was about to be sold to a company that built subdivisions. Since it was built around a natural fresh water spring, and those are irreplaceable, I started daydreaming about an alternative use for the spring. The next two books followed because I had come to love the characters and wanted to spend more time with them. I like to write about places I love, so my next books will be set in Colorado and California.

5) Out of all the books you have written which is your favorite and why? So far, I’d say that the book (working title, Go West Young Woman) is my favorite. I think it is because it is currently a joy to work on it. I like the characters and wondering what they’ll do next. I enjoy visiting the setting because it is so beautiful and is where I spent my formative years.

6) What age group do you think best describes your reader? Why? I think the readers could be young adults to seniors because the books are considered inspirational romances and many people like to read a well-written, clean love-story. As we know, it is love that makes the world go ‘round.

7) What do you think makes a good story? A protagonist that really wants something and has an exciting, perhaps even harrowing time getting it. In a love story, also, it takes a lot of sparks between the male and female characters to keep a reader’s attention.

8) Who are some of your favorite Authors? Some of my favorite authors are Rebekah Lyn, Sue Monk Kidd, Maeve Binchy, and Marion Chesney. I read a large variety of books, non-fiction, fiction, poetry. My favorite poetry author is Mary Harwell Sayler.

9) If you could pick one actor to play a character in your book in the movie version, who would it be? I’d like to see Ellen Page from, “Juno,” play Mel in Clear Spring.

From the Source

From the Source

10) What song best describes your book and Why? “Love Me with All of Your Heart,’ by Rafael Gaston Perez (in Spanish and translated into English) reminds me of Scott’s self-sacrificing love for Mel.

11) Who are some of the people that influenced your love of writing? I started thinking about writing when I was in elementary school and a teacher commended me on using the word, suddenly in an assignment. Later in high school a couple of teachers made favorable remarks about my essays. In later years I learned about good writing from excellent teachers like Quinn Sherrer and Mary Harwell Sayler. Both supported me and helped me along. Manybooks I have read made me want to write, sometimes because I thought I might do better and sometimes because I admired the writing so much and was inspired by it.

12) If you had one piece of advice for an aspiring Author, what would it be? I would suggest that if a person wants to write, they read, If You Want to Write, by Brenda Ueland, The Right to Write, by Julia Cameron, and Poetic Medicine, by John Fox. These books inspired and motivate me and helped direct my writing life.

13) What would you like to say to friends and family of writers (not just your own)? I’d like to say thank you. Thanks for reading our writing and gently helping us know what sounds good and what doesn’t, helping us with our computers, setting up book signings, being involved with publicity, doing the laundry, washing the dishes, putting the kids to bed, and for supporting us in every way possible, including financially in many cases. You are truly angels. We couldn’t do it without you.

14) What projects do you have up and coming? I’m working on some Sweet Westerns.

Is there anything else you want to share with your readers? Readers, thank you too, for without you there would be no need to write books. Thank you for asking for interviews and for writing reviews. Thank you for being my friends, though in some cases we have never met face-to-face.

Clear SpringExcerpt

Clear Spring, Book Three of the Florida Spring Trilogy.

“Scott composed, Corky wrote, and I painted every day, but in the evenings, we got together on Scott’s screened back porch for music. So far, I had avoided being alone with him and hearing what he had to say about my real father. But one day, when I was outside sketching the mottled cardinals flitting around their bright-red father, Scott came to talk. We’d had a tremendous electrical storm the night before, so the world was freshly washed and fragrant. The old rosemary plant, in what was left of a garden gave off a strong aroma. I sat on the glider and he came to sit with me. It was time for him to tell what he knew. I steeled myself.”

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on March 3, 2014, in Interview. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

