Interview with Karyn Pearson

UntitledBio

Karyn Pearson is a post-grad university student with a B.A. in Anthropology, currently living in California with her two dogs. Over the years, she has created many worlds, characters, and series, which naturally makes her head a very crowded place to be.

When she’s not writing, she can be found curled up with a book, playing video games, doing research for her books on the web, or attempting to not burn the house down with another kitchen experiment, a hobby otherwise known as cooking.

Find Karyn Online Twitter and Facebook

Purchase Spark Online Barnes and Noble and Amazon

Interview: 

When did you first realize you wanted to be an Author?

I first realized I wanted to be an author immediately after finishing the first Harry Potter book back in 1998 when I was 8 years old. By 11, I was writing my own stories and I was aspiring to be J.K. Rowling.

What would you say is your interesting quirk that only happens when you are writing?

I would say it’s what I like to call my Writer Multiple Personality Disorder. While writing, I sometimes start doing character dialogue out loud and in character voices. So, needless to say, it can be a bit weird sometimes having extended conversations with myself, yet at the same time I’m talking to people other than myself.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in writing your books?

I learned that there are A LOT more facets to my personality than I first realized. All of my characters typically get based on one main characteristic of my personality and I just sort of amplify that. In the process of creating all these different characters, I learned that I had so many more personality traits than I was actually consciously aware of.

Where did you get ideas for your books?

They’re drawn from multiple sources. Though lately, it seems like the things from pop culture I’ve been exposed to/follow regularly seem to be trying to mash themselves together into story ideas. One idea came from a mash-up of the CW’s “Supernatural”, the recent film adaptation of the graphic novel “Priest”, and the MMO “Dragon Nest”. So it really just depends on what things rattling around in my brain end up sticking together.

Out of all the books you have written which is your favorite and why?

I would have to say that so far it’s the second book in The Hellfire Trilogy, Inferno. I’m implementing a very complicated plot, perhaps the most complicated I’ve ever written, and it’s both challenging and fun. I’m really pushing my limits here with Inferno and trying to see just how far I can go with my ideas and my ability to execute them.

What do you think makes a good story?

I feel that a good story has to have strong characters, a solid plot, and be engaging to the reader. If a book can make you laugh, cry, or commiserate with its main characters, then it probably has a great story. If a book can make you feel what the characters feel, or make you feel like you’re part of the world you’re reading about, witnessing it first hand, then it has to be amazing. I want to be able to get so invested in the book I’m reading that I lose myself in it and forget about the world around me. Because a truly great story has the power to transport its readers across time and space and dimension.

Who are some of your favorite Authors?

My favorite authors include J.K. Rowling, Rick Riordan, Robin Cook, Samantha Young, Susan Ee, Sarah Fine, and many others.

If you could pick one actor to play a character in your book in the movie version, who would it be?

I would say I’m partial to Emma Stone as Ardentia.

source unknown

source unknown

Who are some of the people that influenced your love of writing?

Honestly, I don’t think there are really any specific people who influenced my love of writing. I’ve always loved writing. But the authors of books I’ve read growing up certainly helped nurture that love. And I guess another group who helped contribute to my love of writing would be my readers. Back when I first started writing, I wrote a lot of fanfiction, and their support inspired me to keep on writing simply because they loved my stories so much. So I just got it in my head that if people are around willing to keep reading my work, then I’ll keep writing it, even if it’s only for them.

What kind of TV shows do you like and do you find that as a Paranormal Writer that you gravitate toward True Blood, Vampire Diaries, Lost Girl and others that center around Preternatural or Supernatural Creatures?

I like a lot of paranormal shows like Supernatural, The Vampire Diaries, and Paranormal Witness, along with a lot of sci-fi shows like Continuum, Eureka, and Warehouse 13. I hadn’t really thought about it until now, but I do seem to be particularly drawn towards these supernatural/paranormal-oriented TV shows.

I can’t really explain why I like them or what it is about them that attracts me, but I just find them very interesting. I think somewhere in this mind of mine I’m secretly hoping that these supernatural creatures do exist in our world, hidden, but living among us.

How are your Supernaturals different from the traditional mythology?

The vampires I imagined don’t burn in sunlight if they’re at least one hundred years old or more. Over time they start to build a tolerance to the sun so they can be outside in daylight for a certain amount of time (dependent on age) without getting burned.

What is your view on the Paranormal “Craze” that’s going on, do you feel that it is a fad that people will look back on and laugh or a lasting interest that will birth classics to come?

The paranormal genre as a whole, I think will be a lasting interest and become a key player in the kinds of books people buy. Though I imagine the majority of those sales will come from the YA readers, but it’d be nice to see older adults picking up the genre too.

However, I think that books that started the whole craze (i.e. Twilight) are just fads. Bigger and far greater things will emerge and dominate the paranormal genre in the future.

What other genres do you write?

I’m currently trying to write a science fiction story, and I’ve got plans for a horror story in the works. Both of these are unfamiliar and uncharted territory for me, so it’ll be an adventure in and of itself to find out if I’ve got what it takes to write those genres.

If you had one piece of advice for an aspiring Author what would it be?

Persevere–don’t give up. Because it will be daunting; good writing doesn’t come overnight, nor does hitting the best seller charts. It’s going to be hard, sometimes you’ll think it’s impossible. There will be many times you’ll want to give up. You’ll get discouraged, angry, and frustrated beyond all reason. You’ll be exhausted, defeated, and sometimes even a little depressed. Writing is a deeply personal part of you and it’s going to create a train wreck of your emotions.

But persevere, soldier on. Because all that struggle, all that chaos, it’s going to give way to the path to success. You’re going to make it through if you keep going. You’ll see your work published, so long as you don’t give up.

Besides, if becoming a published author was easy, it wouldn’t be much of a big accomplishment. Anyone would be able to do it. But the path you embark upon as a writer is one not tread upon by many. The road will be long and fraught with challenges of all kinds–roadblocks, detours, and speed bumps–but if you keep on, eventually you’ll reach your destination.

What would you like to say to friends and family of Authors (not just your own)?

Thank you for supporting me and my crazy hobby since childhood. I wouldn’t be here now without having all of you repeatedly telling me over the years that I was actually a good writer.

Is there anything else you want to share with your readers?

I sincerely hope all of you enjoy reading my books as much as I enjoyed writing them. Hopefully I can pass on my love for my stories and my characters onto all of you. I just hope that my characters feel as real to you as they do to me.

2940148512585_p0_v1_s260x420Excerpt From Spark (The Hellfire Trilogy #1)

The demon snapped his fingers and the daemonis igni behind Ardentia grew blindingly bright and white-hot, the flames reaching over forty feet high and surging straight toward her. She froze with fear, knowing that in a few seconds she was about to die, burned alive in the fires of Hell.

“Ardentia!” Noxius was shouting. “Run! Run now!”

She was too scared to move. She could not even muster up the strength to take that first step. Somehow, even if she did run away, she knew that the flames or Gula would end up devouring her anyway.

Distantly, she could hear the voices of her comrades, yelling for her to run, to find higher ground, but still, she could not move.

Noxius snarled with irritation, muttering a stream of curses in lingua daemon.

“Idiot girl!” he hissed at her. “I’ve no other choice. I simply cannot allow us both to die here.”

And then an indescribable force slammed against the inside of Ardentia’s skull. She saw bright lights pop in front of her eyes, nearly blinded with pain, and dropped to her knees in a daze. Dimly, she could feel Noxius seizing control; his power coursed through her, flooding her with an unimaginable strength and power that she was incapable of using. Her hand started to reach for the reliquary dangling from her belt, only to feel an invisible hand within her snatching it away.

“What are you doing?” she asked weakly.

“You’ll thank me in a moment,” Noxius answered her.

Ardentia’s eyes fell shut and she thought she could hear the sound of wings being spread then close around her. If she leant to the side ever so slightly, she swore she could feel the leathery velvet of the wing brush against her cheek.

An intense heat passed over her; she realized that it was probably the demonic fire, having reached her at last. She inhaled sharply, preparing to scream as she burned in the hellish pyre, only to find that she did not need to. There was only heat but no flames. She was not burned.

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on April 6, 2014, in Interview. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

