Wicked Hunger by DelSheree Gladden with Giveaway

 photo Wicked-Hunger-Banner.jpg
Wicked Hunger Cover photo Wicked-Hunger.jpgTitle:  Wicked Hunger
Series:  Someone Wicked This Way Comes Series, Book One
Author:   DelSheree Gladden
Published:  DateApril 1st, 2014 by Clean Teen Publishing
Page Count:  358
Genre:  YA Mature Paranormal Romance
Content Warning:   Violence, minor language, romance
Recommended Age:  17+
Synopsis:  “Save him and hurt him, don’t save him and hurt him. Pain, either way. Delicious pain. Hunger will be the only one that wins. Hunger always wins.”
Vanessa and Zander Roth are good at lying. Their whole life is a giant web of deceit made in an effort to conceal the deadly secrets that plague their family.
Zander will do anything to forget his mistakes, including pushing everyone away. He was barely surviving in his self-forced solitude before Ivy Guerra entered his life. The new girl in school, with her pink-striped hair and unyielding curiosity, incites something wicked inside Zander that can only be blamed on his family genes. Now Zander is forced to fight an internal war and make a choice between loving Ivy Guerra and killing her.
Vanessa wants nothing more than to shed the strange powers she wields and be normal. Because if Van were normal, she’d be able to have normal things… Like a relationship with the boy she’s been secretly in love with for years. Unfortunately, her life is anything but ordinary. That boy who owns her heart just happens to be her brother’s kryptonite and a
potential liability for her entire family. When choices between love and family loyalty have to be made, Van finds herself faced with an impossible decision.
As if the Roth family needs anything more to worry about, a vicious plot to expose Van and Zander for what they are is uncovered. When it becomes apparent that someone close to them is at the center of this devious plan, the fight to maintain control and keep their cover ensues. It’s a seemingly impossible battle because something is causing their powers to stir stronger than ever before… and it won’t stop until Van and Zander give in to their wicked hunger.

Interview

1) When did you first realize you wanted to be an Author?

a. I had a vague dream of being an author in my teens, but I really didn’t consider it an actual career option until I was in my twenties. I think it took me that long to develop the writing skills I needed to create a story I felt confident enough about to let someone else read it.

2) What would you say is your interesting quirk that only happens when you are writing?

a. That’s a great question! I find myself acting out facial expression and gestures I’m trying to describe when I write. My kids will walk by and just stare at me like I’m crazy!

3) What was one of the most surprising things you learned in writing your books?

a. While I was doing research for one of my books I learned about Popé’s rebellion, which was when one of the Native American tribe’s her in New Mexico rebelled against the Spanish. It was such a fascinating story, and I had never even heard of it before.

4) Where did you get ideas for your books?

a. I find ideas in music, movies, books, or sometimes a really random thought. I love taking a “what if” and turning it into a whole new story.

5) Out of all the books you have written which is your favorite and why?

a. That’s really a tough question. I’m going to go with Wicked Hunger, not just because that’s the tour this interview is for, but because this has been one of the most challenging series to write. I’ve really had to push myself to expand my skills and go places I haven’t before. This is the darkest of my books, something I’ve shied away from in the past because I wasn’t sure I could do it. I’m really proud of how it turned out.

6) What do you think makes a good story?

a. Good characters can make or break a story. Even if the idea behind the story is amazing, if nobody cares whether your characters live or die, nobody will care about the story either. Readers want to step out of their own lives and into someone else’s. That can only happen if they feel like they’re a part of the story through their connection to the characters.

7) Who are some of your favorite Authors?

a. That is a really, really long list, but I’ll give the Cliff’s Notes version! Two of my all-time favorites are Brandon Sanderson and Jim Butcher, but I also love Patricia C. Wrede, Diana Wynne Jones, Raymond E Feist, Terry Brooks, Robert Jordan, and Eva Ibbotson.

8) If you could pick one actor to play a character in your book in the movie version, who would it be? Picture of the Actor

a. I’d go with Ryan Gosling as Oscar in Wicked Hunger. Ryan Gosling plays crazy and strange very well and I’d love to see him as Oscar!

9) Who are some of the people that influenced your love of writing?

a. Many of the authors I grew up reading made me want to write greatly, but I also have a wonderful group of authors I work with who helped me turn a hobby into a passion. I owe a lot to these ladies for helping me iron out kinks and stretch myself to be better. I have to give a shout out to Aprl Baker, Rachel Hamm, Susan Stec, Tess Black, and Angela Fristoe. The person who has influenced my love of writing the most is my husband, Ryan. He’s so supportive and keeps me motivated.

10) What kind of TV shows do you like and do you find that as a Paranormal Writer that you gravitate toward True Blood, Vampire Diaries, Lost Girl and others that center around Preternatural or Supernatural Creatures?

a. This is almost sacrilege to even admit, but I have never even watched a single episode of any of the shows you mentioned. Sorry! I do love Fringe and Eureka, though. Some of my other favorites are Psych, Dexter, Criminal Minds, and Breaking Bad.

11) How are your Supernaturals different from the traditional mythology?

a. I always try to put a twist on my supernatural beings. In Wicked Hunger, I actually took everything I knew about common supernatural creatures and made the Roth siblings as opposite as I could. I wanted them to be their own unique beings, something even they struggled to understand.

12) What is your view on the Paranormal “Craze” that’s going on, do you feel that it is a fad that people will look back on and laugh or a lasting interest that will birth classics to come?

a. I think there’s definitely an increased interest in paranormal literature and film right now, and eventually the bubble will burst somewhat, but at the same time, people will always be interested in the strange and unknown. I think deep down we all want to believe there is something just out of sight waiting to be discovered, and that will keep the paranormal genre from ever fizzling out.

13) What other genres do you write?

a. All of my published books are YA, but they vary between heavy urban fantasy to dystopia to paranormal. I have several dramatic YA novels that are completed, but not yet published as well. My first contemporary romance will also be published this coming May.

14) If you had one piece of advice for an aspiring Author what would it be?

a. Read as much a humanly possible. Not only will you learn more about the conventions of writing fiction through reading, you’ll also learn what you like and don’t like, what readers like and don’t like, and what your competition is writing. You need to know an industry in order to survive in it. Plus, reading is just plain fun!

15) What would you like to say to friends and family of Authors (not just your own)?

a. Look at writing as trying to grow a small business. It can take up ridiculous amounts of time at first to get your name out there, and there will be plenty of ups and downs, but hard work and determination can really pay of big. Be there for your author and support them as much as you can. It makes all the difference to know you have people who believe in you.

16) Is there anything else you want to share with your readers?

a. Writing has been my saving grace at many points in my life. It’s my escape, my therapy, and emotional punching bag. Writing doesn’t have to be about selling books. It can simply be a way to express yourself and deal with emotions and problems you don’t know how to deal with otherwise. And if writing just isn’t your thing, something else will be. Everyone should have a passion. Whether it’s painting, programming, running, or something else entirely, explore your potential and find what shows the world who you are and what you’re capable of.

About the Author:
Wicked Hunger-Author photo DelSheree-Gladden.jpgDelSheree Gladden lives in New Mexico with her husband and two children. The Southwest is a big influence in her writing because of its culture, beauty, and mythology. Local folk lore is strongly rooted in her writing, particularly ideas of prophecy, destiny, and talents born from natural abilities. When she is not writing, DelSheree is usually reading, painting, sewing, or working as a Dental Hygienist. Her works include Escaping Fate, Twin Souls Saga, The Destroyer Trilogy, and Invisible. The first book in the Someone Wicked This Way Comes series, Wicked Hunger, is scheduled to be released through Clean Teen Publishing on April 1, 2014.
 
Wicked Hunger-CTP photo CleanTeenPublishingLogo-2.jpg
 
 Clean Teen Publishing Links:
 
Giveaway Details:
There is a tour wide giveaway. Prizes include the following:
  • GRAND PRIZE: Reader’s choice of Clean Teen Publishing eBook, bookmark swag pack, and $15 Amazon Gift Card
Giveaway is International.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on April 18, 2014, in Blog Tour, Giveaway and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thank you so much for having me on your blog Elizabeth! I really enjoyed your questions 😉 Thanks for being a part of the tour and sharing Wicked Hunger with your readers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

