KG Stutts interview on her Writing Process

10464143_10152548922020152_1943507964806254265_n

Leave a comment on the blog to be entered to win a free copy of the book!


KG Stutts’s Interview on her Writing Process

10475856_10202002204447180_781546203_n

Pantser, Plotter or Hybrid?  I’m a panster mostly. Very little plotting is involved.

  1. How does that influence the creation of a series? I already have it in my head the beginning and end to the books. So I guess you can say I don’t outline but I will plot a little.
  2. When, in the creation process, did you know you were creating a series instead of a standalone? I was midway through writing Mirror Image, the first book in my Mirror series, when the concept for a second book came to me. I realized I could split the plot up into two books so suddenly I had a trilogy.
  3. Will there be more books in your series? In my Mirror series, at least five books are planned. I am working on a new sci-fi series which takes place a thousand years after the third book and there definitely will be a tie-in there.
  4. How do you keep the books organized? (Families, timelines, etc) Do you have special tools? I use Scrivener. Such a wonderful tool! Every author should have it on their computer.
  5. How complex are your story lines? It can get very complex. The second book in my series deals with time travel and biology as well so I had to do research so my scientist knew what she was talking about.
  6. What about the complexities surprised you the most? I love the little details. To me, that’s what can really make or break a situation. Traveling back in time, knowing if my characters did something they shouldn’t, they could very well wreck the very time line they were working so hard to restore.
  7. When do you decide a book is over and the next one begins? You get a point where you just see the ending. If you keep going, you could probably write forever. There is a point where you need to take a break, pause and breathe.
  8. What was the most detailed research you had to do for your books? How do you keep that in mind while using it in the series? I really went in depth with learning about cellular biology. My idea was more than plausible, it was scientific fact! Actually, the discussion between Maddie and her assistant Hunter was very similar to an article I read.
  9. What advice can you give to someone creating their first series that you wish you had at the start of yours? Don’t limit yourself. Originally my Mirror series was just a trilogy but I kept having other book ideas coming to me. Why stop at three if the story isn’t done? Be patient if it doesn’t all come to you at once. Keep writing. Try to write every day.

 

Bio:

Growing up in Texas and later South Carolina as the youngest in a house full of science-fiction fans, K.G. Stutts had her natural curiosity and imagination nurtured since birth by family movie nights where they would watch Star Wars, Indiana Jones and even timeless Disney favorites.

A prolific writer of sci-fi, romance and mystery, K.G. draws much of her inspiration from those amazing works that gave her an appreciation for telling rich, compelling, character-driven stories for all audiences.

Her science-fiction writings are soon to be released by the wonderful group at http://distinguishedpress.com and a romance ebook is forthcoming in June from http://lazydaypub.com. She is also a contributor to http://iwassociation.com and http://thewritingnetwork.com.

Keep up with her on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/KGStutts or follow her on Twitter at http://twitter.com/KGStutts. She also is on Tumblr at kgstutts.tumblr.com. She lives in North Carolina with her husband, Brad and works for a customer service call center full time. She’s a lover of Star Wars, Star Trek (original, TNG, and Voyager), Stargate SG-1 and Atlantis, Muppets, Garfield, Disney, Indiana Jones and is a big football, wrestling, and hockey fan.

 

10488930_10202002205247200_437734004_nBuy Links:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00JWZZ20W

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00JWZZ20W

http://www.nook.com/gb/ebooks/mirror-image-by-kg-stutts/2940045986410 (UK)

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/mirror-image-kg-stutts/1119689102?ean=2940045986410 (US)

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on June 20, 2014, in Interview. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Knowing that an author spent time to research and understand a specific happening in their book, makes me much more likely to read and/or purchase the book. I know Katie personally and the passion and love she pours into her books garuntees you a fantastic read!

    Like

  2. Knowing that an author has spent time to research and understand something specific in their book, is an impressive quality to me. It shows passion and dedication to what they love. I know Katie personally, and she is very dedicated and passionate about her writing, thus producing some amazing books! I can’t wait to have a whole bookshelf of her work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

