The Eye of Tanúb by M.E. Cunningham Blog Tour with Author Interview

 photo Eye-of-Tanub-Tour-Banner.jpg

 photo Eye-of-Tanub.jpg

Title: The Eye of Tanúb
Series:  Into Terratir Series # 1
Author:  M. E. Cunningham
Published:  June 13th, 2014 by Clean Teen Publishing
Word Count:  77,000
Genre:  YA Fantasy Adventure
Content Warning:  Non-gratuitous violence
Recommended Age:  14+
 
Synopsis:
Everyone thinks she’s crazy. And maybe she is. But Lauren Marriott knows her journey into Terratir happened. It was real, and she’s writing all down in frightening detail.
She has no patience for her brother Zach and his passion for stupid computer games until she finds a mysterious pendant in his room, pulsating with magical power. Lauren wants it, not realizing it’s a portal between this world and one of monsters, sorcerers, and dangerous quests.
Never in her wildest dreams could she have imagined what she’d find in the terrifying world of The Warlord—death at every turn, but also a love stronger than time itself.
In order to escape Terratir, Lauren, Zach, and their new found friends, must complete the impossible quest for the Eye of Tanúb, a relic of immense power, which The Warlord has already stolen for himself.
GoodReads  |  Amazon (Print)

Excerpt for The Eye of Tanúb by M.E. Cunningham:

We leaped at the same time, reaching simultaneously, but Zach was a hair closer, and the chain of the medallion rolled, like magic, over his finger. My nails dug into his T-shirt, because I hadn’t lost yet, and I tried to pull him back.

And that was when it happened. That was when this story really began, and our lives changed.

In the split second between me grabbing Zach’s shirt and his clenching the medallion in his fist, a light flashed. And I mean blindingly bright. Like lightning. And it filled the room, filled us. I felt the charge, as though I’d stuck my finger into a socket and defibrillated myself. The pain—unbearable for at least five seconds—coursed through me. Then tornado-like winds whipped past my face, blowing my waist-long, gorgeous blonde hair all around us.

And then we were falling.

I could barely open my eyes, and Zach’s cheeks were billowing out like a blowfish’s. I would have laughed if I could have. And then the ground appeared. And I mean… it just appeared. Out of nowhere. I kid you not.

It rushed up toward us, my screams following us through the air. And just when I knew it was all over, I threw my arms in front of my face, hoping to protect one part of my body, so I’d at least be identifiable, and hopefully have an open-casket funeral.

 Interview with the Author: 

What song best describes your book and Why? Oh my, there are a few! I have even made a playlist! Here are the songs (I won’t tell you why they fit. You’ll have to read the book!)  Love story-Taylor Swift, Something I Need-One Republic, Madness-Muse, Just a Dream-Nelly, Farewell-Rosie Thomas, Falling slowly-Glen Hansard, Everything We Had-The Academy, More Time-Needtobreathe, I Never Told You-Colbie Caillat, Falling Slowly, Say Something-A Great Big World, Mad World-Adam Lambert.

What age group do you think best describes your reader? Why? The thing I love about this book—and it is my favorite I’ve written—is that it touches a wide variety of ages. From young teens to adults. Male OR female.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?  That I would fall so in love with the characters I created. When you are lost in a story, writing, it almost becomes real. It sure feels real at times. I’ve laughed and cried, and when I read back through the book, sometimes I am amazed that it actually came out of my brain.

What do you think makes a good story? Any book that I want to take to bed and read and read is a good book, in my opinion. They are usually the ones that make me laugh and cry. They have great humor and tender heartache. It doesn’t matter what genre the book is either. Anything from horror to Science fiction should have these points.

Who are some of your favorite Authors? I’m not too picky. I used to love Stephen King the most. I like his older books better than the new ones. I love Orsen Scott Card and Brandon Sanderson, Diana Gabaldon, and a whole host of new indie writers. Like I said, if they can make me laugh and cry… I like them!

If you had one piece of advice for an aspiring Author, what would it be? Don’t give up. The minute you give up, you fail. Never stop writing, never stop submitting. Just when you least expect it, that agent or publisher will want you. It can take years, but that’s okay. It will just give you more time to practice.

What would you like to say to friends and family of writers (not just your own)? Thank you for you patience. 😉

What projects do you have up and coming? I have my sequel for Reluctant Guardian coming in the fall, and hopefully the sequel to The Eye of Tanúb, come Christmas.

About the Author:

M.E. Cunningham came from a land, far, far away, and ended up on a little farm in northern Utah, living with numerous magical creatures: horses, chickens, dogs, cats, and a goat. Cunningham began writing quite by accident, the fall through the fabric of time dropped M.E. into the mysterious land of Terratir.
Terratir is not the first magical realm Cunningham has discovered, but it is the only one to be written about so far. Favorite topics include ghosts, monsters, dragons, and magic. Cunningham also likes TV, going to the movies, and camping in the mountains as long as there are no spiders, mosquitoes, or ticks.
Cunningham’s first book, Reluctant Guardian, was published in August 2013. While always in search of the strange and unexplainable, this author will write each story as it is discovered. Be on the look out!

 

CTP photo CleanTeenPublishingLogo-1.jpg
 
Clean Teen Publishing Links:
 
Giveaway Details:
There is an international tour wide giveaway. Prizes include the following:
  • Reader’s choice of Clean Teen Publishing eBook, bookmark swag pack and $15 Amazon gift card. 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 photo JGBSBanner.gif

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on June 20, 2014, in Blog Tour, Book Promotion, Giveaway and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you for having me on your blog today! And thank you for spreading the word about my new book!

    Like

  1. Pingback: LIVE Book Tour: The Eye of Tanúb by M. E. Cunningham

Leave a Reply

