If I Had a Wikipedia Page: A Guest Post by Jessie Cox

Note from Elizabeth:

 This is a guest post by my dear friend, Jessie Cox, he writes the gritty, humorous and downright awesome, Ray Corngrower Saga. The stories center on Creek Police Officer Ray Corngrower and his best friend, John Littlefeather, as they navigate life, love and Creek Legend in Bristow, OK. I sent him a list of categories and here is if Jessie Cox had a Wikipedia page. Find out more about Jessie on his website: http://www.authorjessiecox.com

1653429_503312089784254_434648334_n

 

1011742_10200685480271641_85296779_n

Jessie’s Mini-Biography in His Own Words:

My early life was what every boy dreamed of. Raised by my grandmother on Creek land I ran the woods and fields only in a pair of cutoff shorts and a belt knife. As it fell to me from the age of five years old to put meat on the table for my great grandfather, my grandmother (his daughter) and myself. I hunted with my own .22 rifle and/or fished til my hearts content. Until I was twelve we didn’t have electricity so with no television I turned to reading by kerosene lamp for entertainment. While the total monthly income for the family was fifty-five dollars a month I had the wealth of a king. I never saw a hungry day, but if there was nothing to shoot and the fish weren’t biting there was many meals of boiled cabbage one night and boiled cabbage broth over homemade buttered bread the next. Along with the rifle and fish pole I chopped firewood, Cleaned the chicken house, worked in the garden, pumped water from our well and did whatever other chores that were required. My Christmas gifts were usually a homemade shirt and whatever my aunts and uncles decided to give me. Which wasn’t much. I understand now that money was hard to come by and they did have their own families to provide for. It was a good life and I wouldn’t trade the memories for the world.

 

My mother abandoned me when I was three days old. Actually she dropped me at her mom’s and forgot to come back. My

Jess's Grandmother

Jess’s Grandmother

grandfather took exception to my being there and made the foolish mistake that a lot of men make by telling my grandmother to chose either him or me. As the only place she could have put me was an orphanage she decided to divorce. That was when we moved into her father’s house to be a caretaker for him.

 

I wrote my first work in the fourth grade. Boring child that I was I didn’t write about hunting, fishing or anything good. My story was about a boy mowing the lawn. I was proud when the teacher read it to the class. The thirty rejection looks I got were he most I’ve received in my life. As I said. It was boring.

Years later as an adult. I was reading a pulp western novel I had found laying around. The story was a combined effort of several authors and was the worse book I had ever read. Halfway through I sailed it across the room and said “I can write better than that !” and a little voice inside said “Why don’t you?” That was the start of my writing career.

 

It has long been my secret desire to be “an Ex:”. By that I mean I wanted to sample life and it’s multitude of flavors. I’ve been in the military, driven everything from farm tractors top big rigs been in law enforcement, Been a Licensed Medical Massage Therapist, Held a Third Assistant Marine Engineers License and A Chief Engineer’s License for Steam Plants. I’ve used a metal detector to hunt for treasures and prospect for gold nuggets in Arizona, Oregon, Washington, California and Alaska. Like I said. “An Ex”.

At the date of this writing I have seven Books published. The Infant Carrier is a collection of short stories that are a prequel to a six novel series about modern day Native Americans, crime, legends and culture.

I am wrapping up my eighth novel. It is titled The Spencer rifle and is about the Five Civilized Tribes in the US Civil War. It should be available on Amazon and other retailers in a month or so. I’m proud to say that I’m in the process of turning my books into audio as well as paperback and e book. My main goal is to try to keep the old legends of the Native People from dying.

 

When Asked About His Personal Life….

Personal life? A few years ago my house burnt. I have converted the barn into a living space with all the comforts of home except running water. I was just diagnosed with untreatable cancer and though I still can ride my motorcycle, I can’t do long trips anymore. The silver lining of that cloud is that I can spend more time spinning yarns. : )

May Peace and Harmony be permanent guests in your lodge.

Jessie C. Cox 2014

 

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on August 14, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

