For Happy Couples Week…

I missed it… it’s in February but I saw someone post about it recently and it got me thinking….

True love is messy. I’d love to say it’s all unicorns and rainbows, but it’s not. It’s mostly just making it through one day at a time. My husband have been together through financial difficulties, seizures, a miscarriage and every day flues that had us throwing up and pooping on the bathroom floor. You don’t know true love, until you’ve seen someone poop themselves. My husband knows true love well. I have told him to his face, you’re a _______, because he was. Now, he hasn’t called me anything, but has called me out on some things…butting heads is part of life, be prepared for it one time or another…things left unsaid can hurt more than things said. We are honest with one another, brutally so sometimes, because you can’t let things fester.

It’s sounds like we’ve been together forever and it feels that way, but all of that is just in the first year of marriage. Some of it has even happened in the last week.

After all that, you’re thinking why say all that craziness, what does that have to do with “Happy Couples Week?” I’ll tell you why.

Because…after all that, my husband and I still send fart jokes through Facebook messenger to get a smile, kiss when we’ve been apart for a few minutes, enjoy fighting monsters together on the Xbox, hold hands watching a movie, make-out, and truly enjoy each other’s company in general. We are a unit that has seen each other at their worst, but still look at one another and see the beautiful hearts we fell in love with. We put each other first and act as equals with the hopes of ensuring each other’s happiness. I go to bed every night and wake up every morning, knowing the man I chose loves me. Even if the world spins out of control, I don’t doubt his love and loyalty. I am cherished and valued, above everything. My husband is my best friend. I’m happy to celebrate Happy Couples Week with my husband who makes me extraordinarily happy.

Our Wedding Video

About Elizabeth Delana Rosa

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer and reader. When she first learned letter and words in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with books. They have overtaken her life and have been a constant companions. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Her blog recently broke the 3000 followers mark.

Posted on October 20, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

